Avia Pro

Discussion in 'DVD' started by Reid_d, Apr 1, 2003.

  1. Reid_d

    Reid_d Extra

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't know if it's already been posted ?

    UPDATE: Avia Pro Release is on Schedule for early Summer


    We are pleased to announce the Avia Pro DVD series, designed for home
    theater systems, is on schedule and should be available in May of this year.
    These discs will include the most current, state-of-the-art technical
    information for system calibrations and optimum performance.

    In the upcoming weeks, we will send you a list of features that will be
    included in AVIA Pro.

    A formal notice will also be sent announcing Avia Pro's official release
    date.

    Thank you for your continued interest in home theater and we will keep you
    posted!
     
  2. Neil Joseph

    Neil Joseph Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 1998
    Messages:
    8,332
    Likes Received:
    1
    Real Name:
    Neil Joseph
    Any word on pricing? I know it will be quite expensive though.
     
  3. Michael TLV

    Michael TLV THX Video Instructor/Calibrator

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2000
    Messages:
    2,909
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Real Name:
    Michael Chen
    Greetings

    I heard that it will be in the $250 to $500 range.

    Regards
     
  4. Todd K

    Todd K Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any ideas what will happen to the current Avia release? At that high of a price point, it would be wise to keep an affordable alternative on the market.
     
  5. Ron-P

    Ron-P Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2000
    Messages:
    6,283
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Ron
    That's in the same price range as an ISF calibration? [​IMG]

    Be very interesting to see if the content is worth a price tag like that.


    Peace Out~[​IMG]
     
  6. Lou Sytsma

    Lou Sytsma Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 1998
    Messages:
    5,838
    Likes Received:
    344
    Real Name:
    Lou Sytsma
    Whoa - that pretty well prices that out of the ball park!

    Hopefully they'll come up with a lite version for home users.
     
  7. Jeremy Anderson

    Jeremy Anderson Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 1999
    Messages:
    1,049
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone else wary of Michael TLV's price being real, considering what today is? [​IMG]
     
  8. Mark Basile

    Mark Basile Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 1998
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope. From what I've heard, it will be well over $200 for the Pro version. And, you're right, it IS almost as much as a Professional ISF certification anyways. I like Avia and would like to know why anyone would need to upgrade?
     
  9. Gordon McMurphy

    Gordon McMurphy Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,530
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently ordered the current edition AVIA. I have the following hardware:

    PANASONIC DVD-RV20 (PAL-NTSC compatible/'chipped' for multi-region)

    PANASONIC TX-28PL1 (28" 16:9/Quintrix F/PAL-NTSC compatible)

    There is overscan. It's 28" set and it looks like about 10 millimeters is cut off at the left, right, top and bottom. [​IMG]

    When vertical lines are displayed (ie. the drawn curtains at the left and rigth of the stage at the start of PATTON) they bend and are jagged when the should be perfectly straight and smooth, eh? [​IMG] (You really notice it on PATTON; it looks abominable)

    Reds bleed.

    Black-level and white-level seem fine.

    I am no expert whatsoever in calibration, home theater setting-up etc! :b

    Will AVIA help? Are the results a revelation on most sets?

    If anyone can be of help with any of these problems, I will be forever in their debt! [​IMG]

    Thanks for reading.


    Gordy
     
  10. Inspector Hammer!

    Inspector Hammer! Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 1999
    Messages:
    11,061
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Real Name:
    John Williamson
    Holy crap, that's steep! I plan on having Gregg come to my house and ISF my set in a few months, so I doubt i'll need this new AVIA anyway, i'll stick with the current one.

    Gordon,

    I would tell anone considering AVIA to buy it without hesitation! It's a lifesaver, it has test patterens on it that will indeed help your situation.

    That said, AVIA won't fix your overscan, that must be done in the service menu, however AVIA WILL tell you precisly how much overscan you have with the overscan test patteren. It will also tell you how many pixels your displaying with the pixel cropping patteren. Likewise, it won't fix your red push, but it will tell you how much your monitor is pushing red in percentages, so that you can bring your saturation down to an acceptable level.

    And best of all, it will help you bring your color, tint, black level, white level and sharpness in line to NTSC standards, or as close as your monitor can get. You never realize how off your monitor really is until you pop this sucker in your player.

    Go for it, you'll thank yourself later. [​IMG]
     
  11. Gordon McMurphy

    Gordon McMurphy Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,530
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers, John! [​IMG]

    And does AVIA contain a pattern to correct the geometry? The picture seems to squeeze at the top and thus, vertical line, objects (ie. telegraph poles) all bend towards the centre of the screen - Joe Six Pack wouldn't notice it, but I do! [​IMG]

     
  12. Inspector Hammer!

    Inspector Hammer! Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 1999
    Messages:
    11,061
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Real Name:
    John Williamson
    No sweat Gordon. [​IMG]

    quote...
    "does AVIA contain a pattern to correct the geometry?"

    Yes, it does have a geometry pattern, several actually, but correction must be done again in the service menu.

    Accessing your service menu requires a series of buttons pushed in the right order either on the front panel of your monitor or on the remote, BUT

    Be Careful!

    If you gain access don't make ANY changes until you've written down all of the original settings and values first!

    It's pretty easy to royaly screw up your set if you mess with the service menu without knowing what your doing. Sorry for my urgent tone, but it is important.

    There are sites where you can find the code to your monitor, just do a search and you should find one. However, if you feel the least bit apprehensive about doing this yourself, you'd probably be better off letting a qualified expert do it for you.

    I apologize if i'm making you nervous in any way, Gordon, but as long as you follow the access and navigation instructions to the letter (the site should provide them), and you've written down all the original values, it's not that hard navigating and manipulating the service menu. You won't even need to mess with most of that stuff anyway.

    Proceed at your discretion, and good luck. [​IMG]
     
  13. Clint B

    Clint B Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2001
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Isn't it possible, though, to reset your settings to the defaults if you screw up in the service menu? I think it's a possibility with my WEGA.
     
  14. Gordon McMurphy

    Gordon McMurphy Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,530
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks again, John!

    I realise that one has to be careful and not jerk around will certain settings. The last thing I want to do is end with a TV worse than the one in Poltergeist! [​IMG]

    Cheers. [​IMG]


    Gordy
     
  15. Inspector Hammer!

    Inspector Hammer! Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 1999
    Messages:
    11,061
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Real Name:
    John Williamson
    Gordon,

    if you manage to screw up so badly in the service menu that you end up on "the other side", i'm afraid I can't help you with that. [​IMG]

    Except to say "Stay away from the light!!" [​IMG]

    Clint,

    I knew that you could do that, but i'm not familliar with Gordon's set, I was just covering my bases by warning him.
     
  16. Gordon McMurphy

    Gordon McMurphy Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,530
    Likes Received:
    0
    All is well! All is well! [​IMG] [​IMG]

    I fine-tuned for about 6 hours and the results are excellent, I'm, pleased to say!

    - More horizontal information! [​IMG]

    - More vertical information! (I put the vertical symetry in favour of the top to allow for headroom - no more badly cropped heads in Warner's infamous HORROR OF DRACULA transfer now! [​IMG] [​IMG]

    - Better geometry - not 100% perfect (85-90%, I'd say) but damn better than before! Goddamn factory setting was ATROCIOUS! [​IMG]

    There was a setting called "SUB-BRIGHTNESS" and in adjusting it, the black-level vs shadow detail seems to have improved!

    There was a setting that had the following:

    HIGH 0842
    0745 0784







    LOW 0240 0232 0232

    Any ideas what this is or what those numbers should be? I bet $10 that they are off and can be set to a more accurate colour setting as colours still bleed - red-push is bad when red is next to white - Chaz's tracksuit in THE ROYAL TENEBAUMS: CRITERION is the worst case so far.

    Thanks for your support so far, I know it might be asking too much to ask for additional help and you don't have to if you haven't got the time, but any tips would be great! [​IMG]


    Thanks again.


    Gordy
     
  17. Michael TLV

    Michael TLV THX Video Instructor/Calibrator

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2000
    Messages:
    2,909
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Real Name:
    Michael Chen
    Greetings

    It's a high price because it is meant for the professional market.

    How much is a professional grade SVHS VCR ... $1200 ... not $129

    Regards
     

Share This Page