Avia or VE to set sub output?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by DaleI, Jan 3, 2002.

  1. DaleI

    DaleI Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2001
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have my sub set perfectly using the VE white noise at 75 db (70 on the spl); when I put the avia disk in and set my spl to 80, the sub reads much to hot. So I adjust it downward, but then it's to low when I try the VE white noise (at 70 on the spl).

    Which is best for sub settings: Avia or VE?
     
  2. Jason Wolters

    Jason Wolters Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2001
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What are your bass management settings?
     
  3. DaleI

    DaleI Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2001
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a Sony sawm40 sub and have all set to small; I have my amp subout to -13 and am controlling the sub volume by using the sub's volume control--halfway up for a cleaner sound--setting it to 75 db. Just wondering why the discrepancy in avia and VE.
     
  4. Nick P

    Nick P Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    DaleI,

    You're not alone. The same thing happens to me when I switch between Avia and VE. Not sure if this is why but it's my understanding that the tones on VE are a true LFE signal and the tones on Avia are bass signals in the main channel, not the LFE channel.
     
  5. Rick Radford

    Rick Radford Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2001
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Check out this thread by Guy Kuo for sub calibration with Avia.
     

Share This Page