Avia or Digital Video Essentials?

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Derek B, Mar 3, 2004.

  1. Derek B

    Derek B Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Should I buy both Avia and Digital Video Essentials?

    Suggestions Please.

    Thanks,
     
  2. ChrisWiggles

    ChrisWiggles Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    either or should be sufficient.
     
  3. Keith M.

    Keith M. Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 1999
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have all the setup disks, Avia, DVE, and original VE. And I have to say I always go back to the Avia disk. I really cant stand the new DVE, the layout is not intuitive. The audio test signals for LFE are a mess.

    Avia is your best bet...
     
  4. Steve_L_B

    Steve_L_B Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I agree with Keith. I have both, but if you are only going to get one, get Avia. It's much easier to use and navigate and help/instructions for each test pattern can be selected from the same menu as the test pattern.

    -Steve
     
  5. MuneebM

    MuneebM Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have both as well. I initially only owned DVE but once a friend of mine got Avia and I saw that the navigation and picture quality patterns are much better on Avia, I got myself a copy. I use DVE for speaker calibration and in my opinion its the best for that out there because its DTS ES and Dolby Digital EX and is better suited for calibrating my 6.1 set up.
     
  6. TimMc

    TimMc Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Avia. (that was easy...;-)

    OK, why - complete setup, decent navigation, acceptable LFE setup. DVE LFE setup sounded off, subsequent posts & investigation confirmed that you need to tweak/recalibrate after DVE LFE calibration - why bother? Avia is complete and it works.
     

Share This Page