Autographed Movie Posters - Anyone have them/collect them/buy them off ebay?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Michael D. Bunting, Jan 20, 2002.

1. Michael D. Bunting

Michael D. Bunting Screenwriter

Michael
    My wife has recently given me the OK to add some Movie Posters to our Living Room Home Theater.
    I'll probably have room for 3-5 posters in all.
    I was browsing around on ebay tonight - and I found some movie posters that are autographed by some/all of the stars. They really aren't going for all that much, at this point in the auction anyway. It still may be too early in the auction for me to be able to gauge the $$ they'll end up selling for though.
    I worked in the Autograph industry (Sports Collectibles) for about 3 years after High School. I co-managed a small store (The Collector's Den in the Greenwood Mall Greenwood, IN - for those of you wondering [​IMG] ) so, with having this experience - I am smart enough to know that most (I'd guess 80%) of all autographed items are really not AUTHENTIC in nature. I would even tell my potential customers that they should only buy an autographed item if they were comfortable doing so and understood the risks involved.
    So, I'm really not concerned with the authenticity of these autographs on the movie posters that are selling on ebay. Some of them may indded be authentic - but I would guess that most of them are not.
    I just thought it would be a little more of a conversation piece if I had posters that were autographed/signed/fake signed [​IMG] versus just having plain old posters.
    Anyone else have any autographed movie posters/memoribilia?
    Anyone buy any of their stuff off ebay?
    Just wondering.....
    Best Regards,
    Mike Bunting

2. Tim Kline

Tim Kline Stunt Coordinator