auto-switching sound modes HELP NEEDED

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Jan Strnad, Oct 12, 2004.

  1. Jan Strnad

    Jan Strnad Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 1999
    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's been a number of years since I bought my harman/kardon AVR 55. Generally, I love it, but it drives me nuts sometimes.

    When I switch from (say) CD to DVD, I'll get no sound until I monkey around with the Surr. Mode or Surr. Off or Digital switches; same thing happens when I go from DVD to CD. (I use the DVD player for both movies and CDs.)

    I used to carry all this technical stuff in my head, but I've apparently killed a few key brain cells in the past few years and it's all just frustrating as hell.

    Can modern receivers set the sound mode automatically? So, when I switch from CD to DVD, or the other way around, the receiver can figure out for itself how to make sound come out of the speakers?

    I ain't gettin' no smarter, so simplicity counts for a lot now and in the future. Any recs on a new receiver that a stupid old fart can work?

    Jan
     
  2. Sam A

    Sam A Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    first off, if you use the dvd player for cd and dvd [i do the same] then nothing should need to be changed on the receiver. if you mean that your receiver cant tell its a DD or DTS signal, how is it hooked up? are you using analog or digi connections?

    yes new receivers 'know' what is being sent to them as long as its digital. if its analog, it should just stay analog and you would hear sound anyway. im konfuzed as to why you dont get sound until you mess with your receiver. shouldnt do that.
     
  3. Jan Strnad

    Jan Strnad Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 1999
    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sam,

    You're right.

    I'm using a single, coaxial connection from the DVD player to the receiver. Right now, it's working perfectly, easily transitioning from CD to DVD with nary a glitch.

    I suspect that "someone" in the house (there are two of us, not counting the dogs) is futzing around with the controls when I'm not looking.

    Jan
     
  4. charlie o

    charlie o Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    is that like spyware stuff in your post?
     
  5. Jan Strnad

    Jan Strnad Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 1999
    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    0
    Discussion of the "sponsored links" in the Feedback section.

    No, it isn't spyware. It's a new revenue-generating experiment Ron and Parker are trying, Intellitext, that picks up words in your message and links to paid advertisers.

    I'm against it in principle, but Ron and Parker need the money. So... go to the Feedback section and weigh in.

    I have nothing to do with what words get linked or where they are linked to.

    Meanwhile, I still have the autoswitching question. Any help, anyone?

    Jan
     
  6. Jan Strnad

    Jan Strnad Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 1999
    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, I'm closing in on a solution.

    After a week or so with no problem switching back and forth between CD and DVD and getting sound each time, I was listening to some CDs, then switched over to DVD to watch a movie and...no sound. Instead of hitting the various sound-related buttons, I switched back to CD, then back to DVD again. This time, instant sound.

    So, I'm thinking that my receiver isn't working right.

    Jan
     
  7. Sam A

    Sam A Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought you got this fixed

    . in your last post when you say you switched cd to dvd, does that mean you pressed the buttons or put in a different disk?
     
  8. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,098
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    This I don’t get, since you said you’re using the DVD player for both CDs and DVDs…

    Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     
  9. Jan Strnad

    Jan Strnad Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 1999
    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use the DVD player for DVDs and for CDs. There is one audio output hooked up from the DVD player, a digital coaxial connection running from the DVD player to an input on the receiver labeled "COAXIAL/PCM".

    The receiver has buttons for the various sources, including one labeled "CD" and one labeled "DVD". When I put a CD into the DVD player, I have to hit the "CD" button or...no sound. A CD won't play with "DVD" selected.

    Jan
     

Share This Page