What's new

Auditioning speakers Friday! $2000-$2500 to spend! What do you recommend! (1 Viewer)

Kelly

Grip
While the wife is Christmas shopping on Friday, I plan to spend that time auditioning speakers for dedicated HT addition to our home. The room is approximately 14x21 and will be used almost exclusively for HT, with only occasional music. I am looking to spend no more than $2500 (not including the sub), but if I can buy quality for less, I will obviously do so. Since I am no expert, give me your recommendations on what I should audition. I will be in Atlanta and almost all the popular brands are accessible. I plan to get an SVS so don't worry about sub recommendations. Thanks!

Chauncey_G

Second Unit
Best thing for you to do is to go to whatever local audio or home theater specialty stores (NOT Best Buy, Circuit City, etc.) and let them know your budget. They'll steer you in the direction of what they have in that price range.
I have a full complement of B&W CDM speakers in my HT, and I couldn't be happier. They're great speakers from one of the top manufacturers in the world. My mains are the CDM 7NT's, surrounds are the CDM 1NT's and the center is the CDM CNT. Unfortunately, the total cost for my setup is a little more than you have in your budget:
7NT's = $1700.00
1NT's = $1200.00
CNT = $600.00
B&W has a lot of different speaker choices, though. Find a local dealer and see what they can do for you. If you go to www.bwspeakers.com , you can find the dealer closest to you.
Good luck and happy hunting with whatever you end up getting! :)

Bhagi Katbamna

Supporting Actor
I really like PSB speakers. What I would recommend is PSB Stratus Silveri's in the front. Stratus C5i center. one pair Image 10s for side and one pair Image 2B for rear. That might be just a little over budget though. If that is the case, consider PSB Stratus Minis for the fronts.