Audio Ripping speed death....

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Chris Svencer, Dec 12, 2002.

  1. Chris Svencer

    Chris Svencer Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have an Asus 52x cd-rom that won't rip audio over 6x. It used to work fine before I reinstalled windows (would rip at like 14x or something) now after a fresh install it won't rip over 6x. Any suggestions? Where did all my speed go?
    -Svence
     
  2. Jeff Peake

    Jeff Peake Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 1998
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Make sure it is in UDMA mode. Go into Device Manager and check the IDE Controller properties.
     
  3. Charles J P

    Charles J P Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2000
    Messages:
    2,049
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Real Name:
    CJ Paul
    Most CD-Roms wont rip anywhere near their maximum read spead. I have a Kenwood TrueX 52X cd rom with Zen technology (uses 7 lasers to read the disk instead of 1 and then recombines the data read by each laser before sending it through the IDE interface) and I can still only get maybe 8X at the MAX rip speeds or maybe 20X if I rip in burst mode with no error correction. TDK VeloCD line of CD burners claims to use special technology to let you rip at a true 48X (or whatever the maximum read speed of that partcular TDK drive is)
     
  4. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i'm going with jeff. check to make sure that the DMA is enabled.
    essentially that will allow you to copy from drive to drive...bypassing the mb.
    i typically copy around 20x or so. if i'm copying from my hd i can get up to 26x. takes me about 3min to copy an entire cd. [​IMG]
     
  5. Chris Svencer

    Chris Svencer Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I changed it to DMA and got it up to 9x...but still no 13x like before I reinstalled windows. It doesn't seem like it really is spinning up that fast. Anything else I can do?
    Svence
     

Share This Page