What's new

Audio recording/restoration software BESIDES Audacity? (1 Viewer)

Ron1973

Beverly Hillbilles nut extraordinaire
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Ron Reagan (not that one!)
I just upgraded to a Windows 10 machine after my Win 7 machine died. I've been using Polderbits for 10-12 years. They are out of business, so my "lifetime" purchase is null and void. Oh, you can download the software, but it won't recognize my access key and won't work after the 7 day trial. I downloaded Audacity. I'm overwhelmed and lost. I can't make it work. The onboard tutorials are absolutely no help-I might as well be reading Greek. I don't need a bunch of fancy dancy stuff like cutting and pasting or a bunch of effects. I want to record either from a line in source (turntable, 8-track, etc.) or what I'm hearing on the computer. I use archive.org a lot for their rare selection of 78's. I need to be able to record in mono or stereo, be able to split into tracks, and minor filters such as click removal, preferably done automatically. If anybody knows Audacity and can walk me through it, that would be great, too.

Scott Merryfield

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Scott Merryfield
It's been a while since I used it, but I didn't think that Audacity was that difficult to use. I used it to record the soundtracks from some concerts I owned on Blu-ray, and then used a program called Wave Editor to break up the resultant wav file into individual tracks that could then be both burned to music CDs and converted to MP3. I cannot help on the click removal, as I never recorded any of my vinyl via my PC.

DaveF

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Dave
I gave Audacity a look last year for some simple format conversions and found Audacity hard to understand. On the whole, I've found it difficult to find good, cheap / free audio software for home enthusiast use. I solved my specific problems with ffmpeg (I just wanted to transcode audio), but I'm curious what options there are for basic audio editing.

Ron1973