Audio output and copyright protection

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Mike_Yi, Apr 25, 2002.

1. Mike_Yi

Mike_Yi Auditioning

I just got a Panasonic RP56 progressive DVD player. I was reading the instruction booklet yesterday and came across something that distressed me. I'm a newbie to this stuff so I'm still learning what a lot of it is. When I was looking through the DVD setups, I saw a setting for PCM under audio. Having no idea what this was, I watched for it in the manual and when I found it I read that section carefully.

It turns out that the manual does not explain it (I've since discovered elsewhere what it is). However, I found something that made me kinda mad.

According to the manual, when using analog audio output, the audio is converted and output at 48 kHz if PCM is set to On and output at 96 kHz if PCM is set to Off. However, I've got digital output. With a digital connection, I will get 96 kHz if PCM is set to Off ONLY if the disc is not copy protected. If the disc is copy protected, I will get NO AUDIO out. If I set PCM to On with digital output, it will be converted to 48 kHz/16 bit.

Now I can understand that they are doing this to prevent people from copying high-quality DVD audio and burning their own. However, I am not, have never been, and will never be a pirate. Therefore, I am a bit put off that my audio output is being crippled to prevent me from pirating.

So I'm wondering if this is a normal practice or if this is something that only Panasonic does. If it's only Panasonic, I will definitely return my DVD player and get another. I would probably pick up the Sony DVPNS700P if I can verify that it does not do this.