Audio - Digital Coax to Optical (tos-link) convertor

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Derek_R, May 21, 2002.

  1. Derek_R

    Derek_R Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    My new digital cable box only supports Digital Audio Coaxial out and I have run out of coax ins on my Denon 1802 however I have some Optical ins left.

    I was wondering if anyone knew of something cheap that would convert the Coax to Optical.

    Thanks,
    -Derek
     
  2. KeithH

    KeithH Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2000
    Messages:
    9,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    Derek, www.partsexpress.com sells cheap digital converters. I've never used them, but I know they have them.
     
  3. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    A friend of mine uses the optical to coax model from PE. It works great.

    -Robert
     
  4. Phil A

    Phil A Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,170
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Central FL
    Real Name:
    Phil
    I have the Audio Authority converter, which I previously used in a system and I believe it works either way. I got it from Markertek, www.markertek.com. I think they are around $60.
     
  5. Westly T

    Westly T Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 1999
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. Jeff Kleist

    Jeff Kleist Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 1999
    Messages:
    11,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Go to radio shack and buy a Y splitter for RCA cables. As long as 1 device isn't on, it'll work and costs $5 [​IMG]
     
  7. KeithH

    KeithH Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2000
    Messages:
    9,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jeff said:

     
  8. Nathan_R

    Nathan_R Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2000
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Radio Shack does carry a coax-to-optical adapter/converter. I don't rememebr the cost, but it is available (at least at my local Atlanta RS).

    Best regards,
    ~~Nathan
     
  9. Jeff Kleist

    Jeff Kleist Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 1999
    Messages:
    11,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Keith, I have 2 DVD players running in this way. A/B identical on the Y splitter. I don't know where your reduced volume is coming from, but that should never be an issue. Digital is digital and either you get the signal or you don't
     
  10. KeithH

    KeithH Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2000
    Messages:
    9,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jeff, you said:

     
  11. Derek_R

    Derek_R Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys. Thanks again for all your help.

    I ended up buying the Digital Coaxial to Digital Optical (toslink) converter at partsexpress.com.

    Seems to work good. I see the Dolby Digital light on but I only always see Stereo/Virtual/Dolby Prologic II as a surrond mode. No Dolby 5.1, even on the HBO channels.

    Was wondering if the Digital Optical inputs on the Denon 1802 supported Dolby 5.1 or if it was just through the Digital Coaxial input?
     
  12. KeithH

    KeithH Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2000
    Messages:
    9,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    Derek, I can't see why the optical digital inputs on the Denon AVR-1802 would not support Dolby Digital 5.1. That would be very strange. Are you sure you have the correct soundtrack selected on your DVD player?
     
  13. Derek_R

    Derek_R Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry Keith,

    Forgot to mention it was from the Digital Cable box no a DVD player.
     
  14. KeithH

    KeithH Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2000
    Messages:
    9,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    Derek, are you sure your digital cable box support Dolby Digital 5.1?
     
  15. Derek_R

    Derek_R Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Keith, Good question. I assumed that since my Dolby Digital light on my receiver was illuminated that it supported 5.1.

    It could be the case that my Cable Box doesn't support 5.1 or Time Warner doesn't broadcast any 5.1 encoded programs.

    Anyone else with Time Warner Digital Cable have this issue to?
     
  16. Jeff Kleist

    Jeff Kleist Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 1999
    Messages:
    11,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, I meant RCA cables

    I'm using one right now on my reciever. Works great, zero dropouts
     
  17. KeithH

    KeithH Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2000
    Messages:
    9,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    O.K., Jeff.
     

Share This Page