What's new

Atmos vs non Atmos (1 Viewer)

NewAtThis

Auditioning
Real Name
Shehak
Hi,

I'm new to the whole home theater segment. I own a fairly cheap vizio soundbar and subwoofer from a few years back. I dont think I spent more than 300 dollars back then.

I'm now looking into something better, but still dont want to break the bank too much. Keeping it under 2000.

I've been reading about dolby atmos and was wondering if it's worth it? I like the feeling of having sound really run through your body, but is this tech too limited right now?

I'm comparing the following two soundbar and sub woofer combos

1. SONY HT-ST5000 - DOLBY Atmos (1299.99)

Vs

2. BOSE Soundtouch 300 soundbar plus Accoustimass 300 (1399.98)

Which would perform the best and give me the best feeling? One with dolby Atmos and the other not.

The room I'm setting up in is a lounge area which is about 12x11 feet. 2 full walls front and back. 1 side wall with a window. 1 side open.

Mike Frezon

Premium
Senior HTF Member
:welcome: to the HTF!

I've moved your thread to our Speaker/Subwoofer Sub-Forum--which is most appropriate for the subject and the place most likely to get you some informed answers.

One question to get things started: are you locked into getting a soundbar instead of a surround speaker system?

NewAtThis

Auditioning
Real Name
Shehak
:welcome: to the HTF!

I've moved your thread to our Speaker/Subwoofer Sub-Forum--which is most appropriate for the subject and the place most likely to get you some informed answers.

One question to get things started: are you locked into getting a soundbar instead of a surround speaker system?

I'm open to ideas. Im just looking for great immersive sound and feeling.
Main reason I went for soundbar is because its visually appealing and seems like it carries great sound.

Todd Erwin

Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Todd Erwin
Very important question regarding Atmos - do you have vaulted or cathedral ceilings in your room?