Athlon XP 1700+ Project won't start -up

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Trevor Schell, Jan 2, 2002.

1. Trevor Schell

Trevor Schell Supporting Actor

Hi!,,
    Red Alert!!
    Today I finally put together all of the peices of my new computer project.I had the help of a close freind who has experience with putting together computers as I am a rookie at this.
    The major components consist of the following:
    -Antec case with a 400 watt power supply.
    -Abit KG7-Raid Motherboard.
    -AMD Athlon XP 1700+ Processor.
    -Radeon 8500 AGP graphics card.
    -Crucial PC-2100 DDR memory.
    Once everything was put together and then powered up you could see that everything seemed to be running.
    You can hear and see the fans rotating,,The CD,DVD,Thermal Sensor,,ETC,,on the front panel all light up as well as the power buttons.
    Unfortunately the monitor stays blank.
    There is no beeps or sounds that indicate that the system has booted up.
    Each component has been disconnected individually and then the computer restarted again ,but with no luck.
    All connections seem to be fine.
    All of the peices in this computer had been ordered from all around the USA and Canada and are all brand new parts.
    Is it possible that one very important component could be DOA..
    Possibly the motherboard.
    How would I know.
    Any tips on pinpointing the culprit.
    Thanks for any help.

2. Steve Young

Steve Young Stunt Coordinator

Steve Young
    Trevor, are you able to get into the BIOS?
    You may want to post this message over here. or search through the forum. Generally the best way to find a bad part is to start with the basic components (CPU, 1 stick ram and video card)and get into the BIOS (if you can) and then start adding parts. (sounds like you did this) If you can't even get that far, see if you can try another CPU in it. (that's what i suspect)