Athena Speakers

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by RyanCai, Mar 28, 2004.

1. RyanCai

RyanCai Extra

Hello everyone,

I'm very new to home theater & i've just been doing lots of research the past month or so.

I've listen to Paradigm Performance, Klipsch Sf2, Anthony Gallo's Micro Nucleus, JBL E80, & Bose.

For the price & sound i'm happy with the Athena's AS f-2 with the As-C1 centers. I'm not to sure about the rears..

Anyway BEST BUY is having somekind of promo for:
    Athena AS-F1
    Athena AS-P300
    Athena AS-C1
    Athena s.5 Sat
    Pioneer VSX812

All for $1,099.99

Does that sound like a good deal? The guy said i can upgrade the AS-F2's for $200 more & I can replace the Pioneer Vsx812with for a Yamaha 5590 for $300.

Also i have these really old Bose 901's do you think i can use those for my rears?

Thanks in advance

2. kevin-van

kevin-van Auditioning

instead upgrade from asf1 to asf2, and maybe try to get as-p300 to as-p400. i think that'd be a better upgrade.

3. Kevin Alexander

Kevin Alexander Screenwriter

I, too, will second the upgrade to the AS-F2 speakers and a larger sub. The processing power between the 2 receivers will be pretty much the same. The Bose will be fine for the surround speakers, but I would invest in different rears if money is no factor.

4. Shane K

Shane K Agent

I also concur the upgrade to AS-F2's and the P400 sub. The P300 won't really add anything over what the F2's will offer by themselves. You may want to consider the AS-R1 surround speakers since they should be out within the next week or so. They complement the rest of the Audition series and are a deal at $100 a piece for bipoles.

Kinger

5. Jason Lu

Jason Lu Auditioning

i own the f2-s and p400 and they are both excellent for the money i highly reccomend them both!

6. kevin-van

kevin-van Auditioning