What's new

Athena Point 5 versus JBL (1 Viewer)

I am new to this (home theater and Home Theater Forum) and I think I may be operating on a budget and quality level below what I see being discussed here. However, perhaps someone if familiar enough with this equipment to comment.

I'm looking at my first system that will probably include a Sony DVD player (725S), a middle of the road Yamaha receiver (HTR-5550)and a 50" Toshiba wide screen TV.

I'm trying to decide between the Athena Point 5 system (old model that includes the subwoofer) and the JBL SCS135 system. They both seem to get excellent reviews (audioreview.com epinions,...)but the JBL is much smaller and significantly less expensive. I like the idea of the speaker stands for the Athena that I can move anywhere in the room.

The system will be used half for cable TV and half for movies with maybe 10% music (the number don't add up but you know what I mean).

Any experience with either of these speaker systems? Thanks.

Neil C.

JeremyFr

Supporting Actor
I've got the Energy Take 5's and I love them both the Energy's and Athenas are manufactured by the same parent company in Canada. I've not listened to the point 5's but I hear they're damn near as good as the Takes are. I myself am not a JBL home speaker fan but thats just me, many people sware by them almost as much as Bose but at least JBL is deserving of the following they have. I think you would greatly enjoy the Athena's, I know when I was looking for speakers I considered Athena for a while then I went and listened to Energy again as I'd not heard any in years and fell back in love so I bought some. ;)

Adam Bluhm

Supporting Actor
If you're looking at JBL's Studio line of speakers, I personally run a 5.1 setup with them from a Denon receiver and have no problem. I've enjoyed them since the day I received them.