Athena Point 5 or Paradigm Cinema or Take 5 help (also Toronto area people needed)

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by JonathanC, Feb 4, 2002.

1. JonathanC

JonathanC Auditioning

Hey guys, newbie here,

I have decided to choose one of these small home theater setups, the problem is I can't find any location to demo these speakers in my area Markham/Scarborough(Toronto, Markham, Pickering, Richmond Hill, Woodbridge, even Hamilton are all locations I would drive to and any area in between). Also I'd like to know if anyone has listened to the new Athena point 5 speakers, more specifically the sub. It looks kinda weak at 75w and that is the only thing holding me back on this set. Also any comments on the other speakers subs would be greatly appreciated. I want nice tight bass, good blending and it should be able to sound awesome in a 10x18ft room. I know that any one of these sets are going to sound nice(from the messages I've read), the major factor for me now is which one has the best sub. Thanks

Jonathan

2. EricHaas

EricHaas Supporting Actor

I have demoed the Energy Take 5.2's and like them. I like the Energy Encore set better though. I don't care for the Paradigm Cinema line at all, and I own all Paradigm Reference for my HT system. Athenas I have never demoed.

3. Howard_S

Howard_S Supporting Actor

I have heard the Cinema series. I don't know about the others but the Cinema series is a pretty good value. Are prices the same? If smallness of the speakers is important than Cinema series will serve you well. I think the Cinema series center speaker and sub is great. I think you will find better speakers in the other systems but have a lesser sub for the price. I haven't listened to any others however. I wasn't blown away by the Cinema series but the center channel and sub did surprise me.

4. JonathanC

JonathanC Auditioning