What's new

Athena Micra 6 or CSW MovieWorks 58? (1 Viewer)

MaxX

Auditioning
Recently just bought Athena Micra 6 to go with my old HK AVR300.
I was wondering if you guys could tell me if CSW MovieWorks 58 are any better than the Athena Micra 6 since they have 10% discount promotion. So they both turned out to be the same price.
I'm looking to get Pioneer 1014 in the future.

AngeloEug

Stunt Coordinator
Hey Maxx,

I just acquired a set of Micra6's and I recently purchased the 1014.

I was previously running the Micra's with a Yammie RXV596a and I thought that sounded "good".

With the 1014...OMG! There was an immediate improvement over the sound quality. Any 2 channel info was listened to in "direct" mode and I'm still learning the different DD, DTS, THX modes etc. I have to say that the Micra's can "almost" be run without a sub compared to their performance with the yammie.

For acapella information, especially Baratone/Bass the voices have brought a new dimension of sound. I would call it "depth". I'm running a Velo dps-10 as my current sub but I'm also trying out the as-p400 and maybe diving into an SVS pb-10 if I can dig into the couch to find more spare change.

My point was, that with the 1014 the Micra's came to life (cliche I know) but it was really that much of a difference.

Over the past few days, I have learned that it will be difficult to find someone who has intimate experience with newer equipment for opinions unless they work in a store that has both items you are trying to compare or that has immediate access for head to head testing.

If you purchased the items via retailer, take advantage of their return policy and listen to them yourself. I've learned this the hard way by putting numerous miles on my poor car lately just to fix this urge to buy.