Athena Audition series or Paradigm Performance series

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by Derek H, Mar 14, 2004.

1. Derek H

Derek H Agent

I was first looking at a fluance speaker package, but I have now saved up alittle more money to get some "better" speakers. The Athena Audition and Paradigms Performance Series are almost identical in price up here in Canada, it also helps that both fit perfectly into my budget.

Athena: fronts AS-B2, Rears AS-B1

Paradigm: fronts Titans, Rears Atoms

Both the Athena and Paradigm are also relatively the same size speakers (ASB2-Titans, ASB1-Atoms). I will be running them with a Pioneer 912 (auto MCACC Kicks ass!!). I have auditioned both of them and I am still undecided, this is partly because I havent able to listen to them side by side and also I am not a expert.

So this is where I ask for any inputs which will help me make my decision, Thanks!!

2. HoiT

HoiT Agent

Athena does have a dipole/bipole surround speaker available at a list price of 350 cdn - a nice upgrade when youare ready. The corresponding surround speakers from Paradigm (cc 370 or cc 470)cost a lot more. Apart from that, I think both are good speakers.

HoiT

3. Mike^C

Mike^C Stunt Coordinator

Mike
    Nyet.. the CC-370 is the center channel for the Monitor line. For the Performance line, there's the ADP-170 for dipole/bipole sorround and the CC-170 or 270 for a center.

4. brentl

brentl Cinematographer

I'm not sure what the prices are you can get for the Paradigm stuff was, but the B2s were $200 boxing day week and the B1s were $150.

The would probably say the Atoms are the best of this bunch, but they retail for more than $200 after discount.

Brent

5. eryn shannon

eryn shannon Stunt Coordinator

I have the athena audition series speakers paired with a pioneer 812 amp with two athena p-400 subs and it sounds amazing. Verry crisp accurate sounding system good for both movies and music.

6. Derek H

Derek H Agent