Assassination of Richard Nixon - Two Versions?

Discussion in 'DVD' started by David Jay, Apr 26, 2005.

1. David Jay

David Jay Stunt Coordinator

I've been interested in this film for a while, and since it had such a limited release, I had to wait for the DVD release. I just got the disc, which streets today, from NetFlix. It seems to be one of the special Rental discs, where it just has the film's title and studio on a gray background. But, that's where things get interesting.

The studio listed on the disc itself is New Line. The trailers on the disc are all from New Line Pictures. If you check DVDAnswers (Sorry, I'm a newb, no link) they list it as coming from New Line, with a Director's Commentary as the only extra. The disc I got has no extras, except for New Line trailers. It certainly doesn't contain any commentary.

However, I looked at the only review online, ATM, which is from DVDBeaver (Once again, sorry, no link) and they've got cover art with the huge MGM logo on it, and make numerous mentions of MGM in the review. They also say the disc is "Barely dual layered at 5.35 gig" while the one I have from NetFlix is 4.28 gigs, only a single-layer. If you look down in DVDBeaver's shot of the language menu, it has English and French tracks in both 5.1 and 2.0, while mine only has English in 5.1 and 2.0, no French. And, the main menu on mine has "More from New Line" as the last selection, which it's missing from the caps on DVDBeaver.

I'd have no problem with them making the rental copies single-layered by eliminating the French tracks, especially if the retail version is only 5.35 gigs (for shame). I was just curious about all of it, really. I mean, which company is putting out the disc? And how often do they change the code on the disc to make it cheaper for rental copies? Can anybody shed any light on this situation?

Thanks,
    David

2. Mark Cappelletty

Mark Cappelletty Cinematographer

David,