What's new

Ascend CBM-170s: really worth $330? Comparable to larger, cheaper speakers? (1 Viewer)

MichaelDDD

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Mike
Hi there,

I'm new to this "kinda high-end" stuff, so please bear with me. :)

I've been looking at the Ascend Acoustics CBM-170, currently retailing online for $328/pr. I have read the reviews...all glowing; a good sign. I understand what "flat frequency response" means...but I still have to wonder about the $328 price. They seem..."small."

I know they will not put out anything below 80Hz with any oomph. That's what a dedicated sub is for.

Will they put out an amount of sound equal to larger, but much cheaper speakers? Such as the Kenwood towers I have now? The Kenwoods have 8" midbass', 5.25 mids and a 1" tweet. They have a decent midbass "punch" attributable to the 8" midbass'. How much "oomph" can a 6.5" driver have?

I'm considering buying four of the CBM-170s and Ascend's CMT-340C center channel to replace the matched (but not HTIAB) Kenwood speakers I have now. I know the Kenwoods are "mass produced junk" but they sound decent when paired with a good amp and relieved of anything under 80Hz or so.

Do these compare? I like a lot of output. The ability to play loudly and cleanly is important.

I know the Ascends are good speakers; but I'm wondering for the $900 it would cost for a matched 5-piece set if I could do better?

I'm planning on pairing whatever speakers I buy with a
SVS-PB2+...so bass isn't a worry. ;) I'll be buying that tomorrow...speakers I'm undecided on.

Thanks for your patience and opinions/advice.

Mike D

Lew Crippen

Senior HTF Member
The Ascends are worth every penny. I can’t comment on all larger, but cheaper speakers, but I have not heard larger, cheaper ones that I preferred.

I do not own Ascends, btw.

CurtisSC

Screenwriter
I agree with Lew.

Do you like how the Kenwoods sound? Have you heard bookshelf speakers that you do like?