Ascend CBM-170 , First Impressions

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by SamNF, Sep 26, 2003.

1. SamNF

SamNF Extra

[Snipped verbatum from my post at ascendforums]

Now, it's been a couple of years since I've heard a good system; I've been making do with a 1993 2.1 computer multimedia system. My college roommate had a complete Infinity setup that was quite nice. A pair of SM255's, a center, two slightly smaller rears, and a HPS1000 1000w subwoofer. Movies were fun. Anyhow, that's my reference point for a pretty good system. I'm a grad student now and have a little bit of cash to spend, so I thought I'd get myself a decent music system. Ninety-nine percent of the time I listen to music anyhow, and I do that probably 6-10 hours a day. HT can come later.

After much forum-lurking and a few trips to BestBuy and Circuit City, I decided the Ascends were the most worthy of being tried out. I ordered a pair of CBM-170s, the new 100w DLS sub from PartsExpress.com, and a refurbed HK AVR225 receiver. Just got the speakers finally yesterday.

They came well packed; double boxed, foam braces, and bagged. People call them ugly. I'd just call them plain, even Spartan, but certainly not ugly. They're fairly weighty beasts, deeper than I envisioned (which is good.)