What's new

Are these Compression Blocks??? (1 Viewer)

ClaytonMG

Stunt Coordinator
Ok, you'll have to bare with me, i've never posted here before and i don't know very detailed things. I am still learning since I got into home theatres 2 years ago.

Anyway, I have a 51" Panasonic HDTV (the PT-51HX41) and I am using component video from my progressive scan Toshiba DVD player (SD-3750). I am using THX Certified Monster Cables. When I watch DVD's, I notice horrible blocks. I know it's not the sharpness because for some reason, adjusting the sharpness on my component feed doesn't do anything to the picture (it doesn't get duller or sharper). I've had a guy from Best Buy come out and look at the TV and he said it's compression blocks and there's nothing I can do about it. But I don't trust him because he couldn't tell the difference between composite feed and component. So, is there anything I can do? Any help would be very nice!

Clayton

Jorge M

Stunt Coordinator
Have you calibrated your set? If white level and black level are off, you'll be able to notice the MPEG compression on your DVD movies much more. Get a copy of Avia or call an ISF technician. Do a search for either of these if you don't know what I'm talking about!
And no, I won't get naked with you!:)

Justin_T

Stunt Coordinator
Hahaha, whatever that meant! ;) Listen to the guy though. These people know what their talking about. I do suggest finding a copy of one of those DVD's though. It works wonders. I'll see if I have any locally for you.

Jan Strnad

Screenwriter
You see, Clayton wrote "bare with me" instead of "bear with me," so Jorge says, "No, I won't get naked with you."
:)
Anyway....
Clayton, you should have a beautiful picture on that set. I'd try some experimentation to see if you can isolate the problem.
Does the problem occur with all discs, or just some? Maybe the discs are damaged.