What's new

Are the discs from Koreandvds legit? (1 Viewer)

Bruno Cesar

Auditioning
I'm new to the whole buying asian dvds thing, but I got really interested in some hong kong dvds with dts, and a couple of anime ones from koreandvds, but they're price are just too low, so I got worried
Are they legit region 3 discs?

DieterW

Agent
Yes, they sell legit releases. It just happens to be that CDs and DVDs are much cheaper in many Asian countries than they are in Europe or the US. It is also one of the reasons CD-WOW can sell their products at a very competitive price (they are HK-based).

Runar_R

Second Unit
Well, my experience is that they are legit. They do not KNOWIGLY sell bootlegs. However, not all the korean distributors are playing 100% straight, so there have been instances where bootlegs have been found on koreandvds.com.....

Which titles are you worried about? We might have discussed them earlier

Ron Boster

Screenwriter
I have about 30+ dvd's from koreandvd.com and have never received a boot from them....I find it hard to believe someone has gotten one too.

Daniel Windsor

Stunt Coordinator
Are the discs from Koreandvds legit?

Not always.

They have stocked DVDs that are stolen from Criterion transfers (as confirmed from technical tests, logos and Criterion themselves).

Are KoreanDVDs.com legit?

Yes, I believe so.

Daniel Windsor

Stunt Coordinator
...and of course plenty US stores supplied stolen material too from Pacific Family Entetainment with their pirate release of Peckinpah's Convoy (which is owned by MGM in the USA).

Those Korean DVDs are direct ports though. I'm not sure where Pacific got their video files (looks like an old VHS tape from what I saw) from.

Dave Danek

Stunt Coordinator