What's new

ARC or not to ARC...CEC or not to CEC? HUH? (1 Viewer)

Should I connect my AV Receiver via ARC to ARC in TV?

• Total voters

Tia23

Auditioning
Real Name
Thea
I'm very new to this. I've read a lot of articles/reviews/watched videos giving advice and there are heaps saying to use ARC but then there are those who say not to use it... I dont really understand how it works?

ARC is for audio? yes? - so how come theres information out there that ARC cant do Dolby atmos through HDMI? i dont get it and then even more complicating... CEC - so this "wakes up the tv?" is that right? for example, if everything is off...but then something triggers the apple tv (lets say...accidentally choosing wrong apple tv to airplay to - if CEC is on..then apple tv would wake up which would wake up the tv and wake up the av receiver, and it will automatically start playing/mirroring or just all be on all at the same time and then now that the tv is on - i change inputs to ps4 because i want to play a game.. so apple tv is no longer being used..will that automatically turn off because i'm not using it..and then turn off the tv and then everything else?

I havent received my set up yet but I cant wait to install everything. i just want to do it the right way the first time.. any expert advice, information, questions or comments are all welcome :)

Scott Merryfield

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Scott Merryfield
It rally depends on your system. The more complex the setup, the less I would recommend using either feature. CEC can be somewhat useful if you just have a display and one or two source components and no receiver, but you still probably will not be able to use a single remote for every function. If you have a receiver in the setup, you will be much better off getting a universal remote control instead.