Aragon amp vs. Parasound 2205.

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Steve Morgan, Mar 6, 2002.

1. Steve Morgan

Steve Morgan Second Unit

Steve
    Saw the Aragon amp on ubid for $1909 and wondered if it would make a significant difference in my system. I currently run a Parasound 2205a and a 2003a w/ Von Schweikert speakers in a 7.1 setup. Any thoughts?

Steve M.

2. Ricky T

Ricky T Supporting Actor

Steve,

The few people who have compared the Aragon 8008 amps against the Citation 7.1 amps called it basically a tossup (see audioreview). You like the parasound 220 wpc over your Citation 7.1. Keep your parasounds and the money in your pocket man!

3. Kevin T

Kevin T Screenwriter

i have no experience with either amp but i think the general consensus here is that the parasound is a top performer but the aragon is in a league of it's own when compared to most "mass market" 5 channel amps. assuming you had to choose one or the other at the same price, most would suggest getting the aragon. since you already have the parasound though...i don't see any reason for the upgrade other than curiosity killing the cat.

kevin t

4. Kevin Deacon

Kevin Deacon Second Unit

I think this is a prime example of diminishing returns.

5. Kevin C Brown

Kevin C Brown Producer

Can you say, "upgradeitis" ? I thought you could... [​IMG]
    I have 2 Acurus A200x3 amps in a 6.1 system.
    A while ago, I had an incurable case of "upgradeitis".
    I got an 8008x3 to "try out".
    1st off, it is 19 inches wide, not the "std" 17. I didn't know that. It is a big monster of an amp. Beautifully engineered. Really quite a work of art, IMO.
    I had it for a month. Tried it out on music and movies. At the end of the month, I couldn't justify any improvement in sound quality, dynamics, etc., for the extra cost. So I stayed with Acurus.
    Personally, I would put Aragon a very small notch above Parasound, but I agree: don't switch, save your money for something else.