1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Apple TV 4K official

Discussion in 'Apple' started by Sam Posten, Sep 12, 2017.

  1. Johnny Angell

    Johnny Angell Played With Dinosaurs Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 1998
    Messages:
    10,712
    Likes Received:
    3,274
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Central Arkansas
    Real Name:
    Johnny Angell
    Since my very first ATV years ago, the Trailers app has had issues. It used to freeze and buffer several times for each trailer. On my 4K it’s much better but still had some of those freezes.
     
  2. Robert Crawford

    Robert Crawford Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 1998
    Messages:
    41,975
    Likes Received:
    17,862
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Michigan
    Real Name:
    Robert
    For clarification purposes, I have no problem playing the Trailers app on my other two 4KATV units with tvOS 12.3. It's only my 4KATV unit with tvOS 13.0 Beta that I can't access Trailers.
     
  3. Robert Crawford

    Robert Crawford Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 1998
    Messages:
    41,975
    Likes Received:
    17,862
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Michigan
    Real Name:
    Robert
    The issue with the TCM app is not restricted to tvOS 13.0 Beta units. I have the exact same problem with my other two 4KATV with tvOS 12.3. Furthermore, I can't access the tcm.com/activate to activate the TCM app on my Roku units. Their website won't fully load so you can't type in your activation code. Looks like the TCM app is having issue all around again.
     
  4. JohnRice

    JohnRice Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    11,091
    Likes Received:
    1,317
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    A Mile High
    Real Name:
    John
    Wandering away from the bets iOS discussion for a moment...

    Some of you probably know I just got my first, cheap 4K TV in the living room system. I can't get anything to stream HDR with the ATV 4K. I have limited streaming options, but I tried a couple Prime shows that say they're HDR. Fleabag and Mrs. Maisel. The bizarre ATV video options are set to 4K SDR with Maintain Source turned on. I also tried Video set to 4K HDR. the problem is, I don't remember if Maintain Source was turned on at that time. Neither played the most recent episodes of those shows with HDR. When I had Video set to 4k HDR, the menus would be HDR and once a stream started, it switched to SDR. This cheap TCL TV isn't really capable of true HDR, but it can accept and process it. I have successfully streamed 4K DV clips from the Dolby app on the TV. I haven't registered the TV's Prime app for my account yet, so maybe I'll try that next.

    Maybe there's a setting in my Amazon account I need to change?
     
  5. Cranston37

    Cranston37 Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Messages:
    1,532
    Likes Received:
    950
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
    Real Name:
    .
    I don't get HDR on Fleabag or Mrs. Maisel, but I do get it on The Widow and Jack Ryan. Do you get it on those?
     
  6. JohnRice

    JohnRice Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    11,091
    Likes Received:
    1,317
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    A Mile High
    Real Name:
    John
    I'll give those a try. I looked it up, and both of those were listed as HDR on the site I found.
     
  7. Cranston37

    Cranston37 Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Messages:
    1,532
    Likes Received:
    950
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
    Real Name:
    .
    Yes, they are certainly all listed as having HDR, but like you I could not get the first 2 to work whereas the others I could.
     
  8. Message #808 of 883 Jul 19, 2019
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2019
    JohnRice

    JohnRice Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    11,091
    Likes Received:
    1,317
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    A Mile High
    Real Name:
    John
    OK, Holy CRAP! Between Apple and Amazon's bizarre hoops, it's a wonder anything works, but I figured it out. On the ATV 4K, you set output to 4K HDR, AND Match Source to "On". What threw me with this is, it then shows menus in their awful, fake HDR. I mean, crap, how much would it take to simply make the menus real HDR instead of this flat, washed fake stuff. Then, when you play something that isn't HDR, it goes to SDR. Solution found.

    Regarding getting Mrs. Maisel and Fleabag (for example) to play in HDR, if you added them to your watchlist when HDR wasn't enabled, it added the 1080 SDR version. So, you have to remove that version from your watchlist, look it up again, and add it back to your watchlist. When you look it up again, with HDR enabled, the title should be followed by "(4K UHD)" or it'll just put the 1080 version back in. It also seems to get kind of confused. I can NOT get the SDR version of Fleabag out of my playlist. Right now, both versions are in there.

    I wonder how much stuff I have to remove and put back in order to see the best version available.
     
  9. Message #809 of 883 Jul 19, 2019
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2019
    Cranston37

    Cranston37 Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Messages:
    1,532
    Likes Received:
    950
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
    Real Name:
    .
    I have my Match Content set to "off," which is highly recommended, and I definitely get Amazon HDR to play with it.

    With it off, I get Fleabag and Mrs. Maisel without HDR, and The Widow and Jack Ryan with HDR.

    I don't have a watchlist at all - just play from search results
     
  10. JohnRice

    JohnRice Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    11,091
    Likes Received:
    1,317
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    A Mile High
    Real Name:
    John
    The problem with that is SDR stuff (specifically Hulu) plays back in fake HDR, which looks like crap. That is what I was wanting to avoid. As my previous post said, HDR stuff now is definitely playing in HDR. I think only seasons 2 of Fleabag and Mrs. Maisel are in HDR. I most positively disagree that Match Content should be turned off, from the experimenting I just did. When I originally had it set that way, the image on non HDR stuff was so bad, I turned off HDR entirely until I could figure out what was wrong.
     
  11. Robert Crawford

    Robert Crawford Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 1998
    Messages:
    41,975
    Likes Received:
    17,862
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Michigan
    Real Name:
    Robert
    I wonder if the crappy look of the fake HDR has more to do with the display than anything else because on my LG OLED it doesn't look that way to me. Or, perhaps, my eyes are more forgiving than yours.
     
    Tino likes this.
  12. Cranston37

    Cranston37 Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Messages:
    1,532
    Likes Received:
    950
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
    Real Name:
    .
    Completely ignore what I said - I mixed up on and off. It's been a long week ;)
     
    JohnRice likes this.
  13. JohnRice

    JohnRice Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    11,091
    Likes Received:
    1,317
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    A Mile High
    Real Name:
    John
    That is entirely possible, since this is a cheap 4K TV, that isn't really capable of true HDR. It can just process it and remap it's very limited dynamic range. Real HDR looks very good, even though I know it's not the real thing with this TV. I won't really know until I replace the Plasma in my HT with an OLED. If the plasma doesn't die earlier, I think late this year or early next will be when that happens.

    At the same time, I doubt I'll want the ATV's fake HDR even when I do have an OLED.
     
  14. Robert Crawford

    Robert Crawford Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 1998
    Messages:
    41,975
    Likes Received:
    17,862
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Michigan
    Real Name:
    Robert
    I have my ATV4K setting at Dolby Vision (24Hz) most of the time. I like the way it looks on my panel. However, when I get my OLED55C9P on Tuesday, I'll play around some more with the settings as there are more options with this model than my OLED65E6P display.
     
  15. JohnRice

    JohnRice Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    11,091
    Likes Received:
    1,317
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    A Mile High
    Real Name:
    John
    I think it only gave me the option for DV at 1080p. I'll have to double check that tomorrow, but currently it's been 100 degrees today, and I don't have air conditioning, so I'm keeping cool in the basement until bedtime.
     
  16. Robert Crawford

    Robert Crawford Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 1998
    Messages:
    41,975
    Likes Received:
    17,862
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Michigan
    Real Name:
    Robert
    John,

    What state do you live in?
     
  17. Cranston37

    Cranston37 Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Messages:
    1,532
    Likes Received:
    950
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
    Real Name:
    .
    I here ya! This is at 8pm!

    3556E90F-8B99-4169-B90F-A37728AA9DE0.
     
  18. JohnRice

    JohnRice Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    11,091
    Likes Received:
    1,317
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    A Mile High
    Real Name:
    John
    Colorado. Which is why I can get away without AC. High today and yesterday of 101 on my thermometer, but still got down to 61 last night.
     
  19. Johnny Angell

    Johnny Angell Played With Dinosaurs Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 1998
    Messages:
    10,712
    Likes Received:
    3,274
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Central Arkansas
    Real Name:
    Johnny Angell
    Today I tried the Photos app on the ATV4K for the first time. It works and I can see my photos. It doesn’t appear to have much ability to manipulate the photos, notably, I’d like to zoom in on an area of an image. I’m using my iPhone X and don’t see any commands or buttons to zoom in. I’ve tried the spread the fingers gesture and that does nothing.

    Is zooming in/out possible at all?
     
  20. Cranston37

    Cranston37 Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Messages:
    1,532
    Likes Received:
    950
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
    Real Name:
    .
    Spreading the figures is definitely how you zoom in and out...
     

Share This Page