What's new

Apple Rumors - WWDC Thread - Panther/G5 (1 Viewer)

Patrick Larkin

Screenwriter
Any Apple users care to discuss the big rumors floating around before WWDC?

For starters:

- New PowerMac G5 is rumored to be released at the Worldwide Developer's Conference. Supposedly a new smaller case with no transparent plastic. Graphite with less noticeable handles. Of course, it will have the new "G5" processor...

- G5 Processor - otherwise known as the 64-bit IBM 970. Apple will dump Motorola in favor of IBM. I'm no engineer but from what I've read, this chip will allow the Mac to speed up most everything on the board. Memory access, system bus, possible quad processors, etc.

- And how can you have a 64-bit processor without a 64-bit OS? MacOS X 10.3 (Panther) will also rear its head at WWDC.

- Quark XPress 6 for X has been finally announced.

- One interesting rumor is that Filemaker has been brought back in house at Apple where presumably it will join in with the stealth Office-type package Apple is working on...

I'm kicking myself for not going to WWDC.

Patrick,

I certainly have heard all the same rumours. Although, I thought there was to be one last Motorola chip before the 970's? Dunno.

There is a small design shop within my responsibilities at work ... we migrated to InDesign (Adobe) because we couldn't wait to use OS X. Honestly, I don't think anyone [here] misses Quark. It is not my forte, but Quark waiting so long to release ... and their track record for bugs, do not bode well for this release.

We also use Filemaker heavily. Nice little program, I just hope Apple doesn't over-price their office product. Using Appleworks, anyone? I doubt it.

Don't kick to hard, WWDC isn't cheap. Especially when someone will post all the cool information the day-of, anyway!!! :)

In relation to HTF, there are quite a few folks waiting for these 970's - but only because they anticipate the G4's coming down to a reasonable price. New machines for Final Cut Pro 4!