Apple HD Cinema Display - 1080p?

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Curtis Anderson, Sep 10, 2003.

  1. Curtis Anderson

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is the monitor i'm talking about:

    I can't post links yet, but go to Apple's site and look under hardware. You'll see it.

    I'm no expert, but it seems to me like this is one of the most advanced displays available. Sure, it's a relatively small "computer" monitor, but I guess it could do 1080p no problem. And it's $2000, which is probably a lot less expensive than other 1080p solutions.

    One serious drawback is that it only works with Mac G4 systems. So Windows users would have to look elsewhere. But there must be similar monitors available for Windows, right? I dunno.

    What do you all think of this monitor, and 1080p in general? Everybody go see Once Upon a Time in Mexico this weekend! Rock.
     
  2. Tommy Haupfear

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1998
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Now that is a monitor! Can I have one for the PC please?

    Its good to see new LCD panels going higher than 720p. I just sold a Dell Inspiron 8500 laptop that had a 15.4" LCD that supported 1080p (1920x1200). Of course desktop icons required a magnifying glass!!
     
  3. Fred Tedsen

    Fred Tedsen Extra

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 1999
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The Cinema Display can be used on PC with an ADC to DVI adapter. Also Sony makes a display of the same size and resolution as the Cinema Display, but it costs even more!
     
  4. Gabriel_Lam

    Gabriel_Lam Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The Sony one uses an older panel, unfortunately.

    The Samsung 240T is another good choice. Like the Apple's 23", except:

    24.1"
    Higher brightness
    Higher contrast
    DVI, VGA, S-Video, and Composite inputs instead of just ADC

    Unfortunately, it's about $400-500 more expensive.
     

Share This Page