Anyway to upconvert a 720p signal to 1080i?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jason Blaydes, Nov 6, 2002.

  1. Jason Blaydes

    Jason Blaydes Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2001
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    my 55" HDTV ready toshiba (55h70) can only receive a HD 1080i signal. is there anyway to upconvert a 720p signal to 1080i? i know that some televisions have internals that do this automatically... but mine doesn't. is there a seperate piece of theater equiptment that can be bought to do this upconversion?... maybe some type of decoder that upconverts?... or am i just SOL?
    i'm wanting to upconvert because my Xbox has tons of games being released in 720p format but none as of yet have been released in 1080i format. i'd like to take advantage of my HD cababilities if at all possible. thanks very much for any help, suggestions, and info.
    ps - i also posted this question in the "Video Game Sotware" forum, but was directed here to gets specifics on the hardware that i would need. here's the link to my question in that forum: http://www.hometheaterforum.com/htfo...34#post1124034
     
  2. Jack Briggs

    Jack Briggs Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 1999
    Messages:
    16,738
    Likes Received:
    129
    Jason, that Toshiba, when fed a 720p signal, should be able to display it in 1080i.
     
  3. Jason Blaydes

    Jason Blaydes Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2001
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    here's a link to my television at the toshiba website... it has my specs ans such: http://www.toshiba.com/tacp/tv/archive/55H70.html
    i currently don't own any games in 720p format... but i have a demo disk that has a game on it that is suppossed to be in the 720p format. i set my xbox up for 720p and then put the demo in... but no HD picture on my toshiba. i not 100% sure that the demo is in the 720p format though.
    is there somewhere i can read that will tell me defenitely weather my television does the upconversion? also i noticed it has:
    - Improved IDSCâ„¢ (Intelligent Digital Scan Conversion)
    - New Vector Progressive Scanning (480p)
    is the IDSC up upconverstion from 720p to 1080i?
    and, does my television except a 480p signal too?
    none of this is mentioned in my manual... so i didn't realize i had these features until just now when i looked for my model on the toshiba website. thanks for any more help and your time, peace.
     
  4. John Royster

    John Royster Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jason,

    I'm not sure about your TV but other HDTVs have a specific input for high definition like 720p. Is you x-box attached to an input that will accept HD?
     
  5. Jason Blaydes

    Jason Blaydes Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2001
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes the xbox is setup through my HD inputs... which is my component video inputs. i have two sets of component video inputs on this televsion and my dvd player is hooked into one and now my xbox is connected to the other.
     
  6. Jan Strnad

    Jan Strnad Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 1999
    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    0
    I could be wrong (as Dennis Miller used to say) but I thought that the Toshibas didn't accept a 720p signal.

    You might look at an iScan converter.

    Jan
     
  7. Manuel

    Manuel Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 1999
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone know if a Mits 65819 will upconvert a 720p signal to 1080?

    Thanks
     
  8. John Royster

    John Royster Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mitsubishis will not take a 720p input.
     
  9. Jason Blaydes

    Jason Blaydes Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2001
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the info guys.

    but:
    - does my toshiba except a 480p signal?
    - what is this IDSC (Intelligent Digital Scan Conversion)
    - and where is a good place to purchase an iScan converter for a good price?

    thanks very much for anymore help on these questions.
     
  10. peter m. wilson

    peter m. wilson Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi,
    the new tosh's hdx series i think do 720p, but seriously many people feel its like splitting hairs. ABC network in hd broadcasts in 720p which is converted to 1080i on my tosh 65h80. if your tv is converting 720p to 1080i for the XBOX you have it made inthe shade and will be very happy with the result.

    peter m.
     
  11. errol

    errol Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 1999
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Jason,

    What stb are you using to feed your set?

    My DTC upconverts 720p to 1080i.

    r,
    Errol
     
  12. Mike I

    Mike I Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2000
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    For sets that only accept 1080i hd, it is not the set that does the conversion from 720p to 1080i, it is done by the HD set top box...
     
  13. DerekF

    DerekF Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2001
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jason, why not check this list for a 720p game you like, and rent it? I wouldn't put much faith in a demo disc for something like this, and this way you'll know for sure!
    Derek
     
  14. Bill Slack

    Bill Slack Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 1999
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    0
    An Iscan is a de-interlacer, it will not help you, at all. And a STB has nothing to do with this question either.

    AFAIK, there is nothing reasonably priced to do this.
     
  15. John Royster

    John Royster Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    A STB can take a component input and scale it to 1080i. Just depends on the STB.
     
  16. David Forbes

    David Forbes Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 1999
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Panasonic DirecTV hi-def STB can output 1080i or 720p with the push of a button on the front panel. In other words, the STB does indeed convert all incoming signals to the desired output.
     
  17. Vin

    Vin Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2000
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think some of you guys might be a little tired [​IMG].....as Bill pointed out, Jason is trying to display a 720p image from his XBox, not from a STB. His Xbox doesn't convert the signal the way a STB does and his HDTV doesn't accept 720p.
    Vin
     
  18. John Royster

    John Royster Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe I'm mistaken but I thought some STBs actually had a component input and would scale a 720p input like the xbox to 1080i.

    I'm not talking about 720 broadcasts but an actual input from some external device like xbox.

    Or I'm just smoking crack and there is no such STB.
     
  19. Bill Slack

    Bill Slack Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 1999
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    0
    John:

    If a STB can do that, them I'd call is a scaler, not a STB, which generally means a HD tuner.

    I don't know of any STB that can take a 720p input and output it to 1080i I don't even know of any with a simple passive pass-through, for that matter.
     
  20. Bill Lucas

    Bill Lucas Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 1999
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    0
    John,
    Bill is correct. No scaler that I know of would do anything to a 720p signal. A scaler is for scaling of interlaced input signals. High definition signals go through the HD passthrough...untouched.
    BTW, 1080i is NOT an upconversion from 720p. 720p is certainly a superior signal for fast motion (like football games) and if interlaced, would be 1440i, which last time I checked was a significantly higher resolution than 1080i. [​IMG]
    Either the set can receive the signal or it can't. There is no device made that I know of that does what the original poster wishes, at least certainly not at a price point that 99% of the people on this forum could find affordable.
     

Share This Page