Anything I can improve? (What did I do wrong?)

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jesse Steiner, Nov 21, 2002.

1. Jesse Steiner

Jesse Steiner Auditioning

Hey guys. Novice here. lol. My dad recently purchased a bunch of equipment while I was at school that other day(that was a surprise, let me tell you!), and hired me (without pay) to hook it all up. I've never really worked with much HT stuff in the past, but i've been learning a ton within the past couple weeks so i could do this right (like lurking around here and reading a ton). So i guess i'll start by letting you know what he bought:
    Sony KP-53HS20 or HS30, i don't know. 53" Projection TV (Does anybody know the difference between the two?)
    Sony DVP-NS315 DVD Player
    Technics SA-DX950 AV Receiver (actually we've had that a while with no surround sound happening)
    Now that i lok at it, he didn't buy much. lol. But I have a few questions.
    1) Is the TV decent? It's staying for sure, but is there anything else in the price range the you woud have recommended?
    My dad went out and bought all this without doing much research, and without knowing really anything. But he's not really a videophile, and he stands by his bose like they're the end-all to speakers, so that should tell you about his sound preferences.
    Now, i went online and bought some audio cables and some component video cables from KnuKonceptz.com (i love that site, i got there for all my car stereo stuff. Good quality audio cables, i know, and great prices. I assumed their component video was good.) and went to www.avcables.com for coax audio cable and s-video cable. I ran coax from the DVD to the receiver, and all my other components into the TV for audio, and also sent audio out from the TV to the receiver via RCA's. I used component video to hook up the DVD player, and s-video for my digital cable box. No video goes through the receiver.