What's new

International Anyone with Greatest American Hero S1-3 on BluRay (Japan)? (1 Viewer)

Scott511

Second Unit
Real Name
Scott
I have the complete series, looks better than the DVDs, but I'm not technical enough to tell you if it's a upscale, etc. I can tell you it does NOT look as sharp and clear as the blu ray editions of the Star Trek: TOS, or The Twilight Zone. Even the recent Battlestar Galactica (1978) beats it in terms of picture quality, but not as much as the first two I mentioned.

No teasers before the the opening credits, but all the original as broadcast music is intact.

It was pricey, but it is the best version of the series that's been released so far. However, I feel the show could look a lot better.

One more thing, the 2nd season episode The Lost Diabo was shot on film but transferred to tape for post production. It was a test by Cannell to see if costs could be cut, that episode looks like crap on Blu ray.

Bill Waits

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
magicman
Thanks for the info. Does anyone else have this? Perhaps someone who wouldn't mind talking offline? I have a few questions...some in depth, and perhaps lengthy for emails.

Scott511

Second Unit
Real Name
Scott
Forgot to add that the aspect ratio on the Japanese set is the correct 4:3, however the discs are 1080i, and I know that's a deal breaker for some.

Highly doubtful they can be found anyway at this point. The volumes appear to be OOP, they've not been on Amazon.jp for a long time, or available on CD Japan. A couple of the other usual sites most buy discs from have no listings or "out of stock" shown.

Craig Beam

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
CraB
I'm guessing they're upscales of the earlier DVD masters (well, the Japanese DVD masters, since the original music is intact). Too bad. I wouldn't mind a full-on HD release in Region A, but I'm not gonna hold my breath.

Timothy E

Reviewer
Real Name
Timothy Ewanyshyn