Anyone using a Radeon 8500 with the component adapter?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Brad Bissell, Jun 29, 2002.

  1. Brad Bissell

    Brad Bissell Extra

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just curious if anyone is using the ATI Radeon 8500 with the new component adapter? If so, how is the quality for DVD and games?
     
  2. Brian Ruth

    Brian Ruth Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not: I got an All-In-Wonder 7500 instead of an 8500. Will they make a component adapter for the 7500's??
     
  3. Brad Bissell

    Brad Bissell Extra

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Looks like it is only for the 8500 boards including the AIW. I guess it reprograms the ramdacs to output the right resolution/frequencies.
     
  4. Steve_Ch

    Steve_Ch Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How do you guys like the 7500/8500 ?? I just started snooping around for a video card. I have a Dell Dimension XPS T500, and just upgraded to XP Pro. The old DVD accelerator (an QI card) is not XP compatible (I beleive QI is no longer in business, W98 was last driver available) so I just removed it. PIII 500 is perfectly adequate in playing PowerDVD, but I do miss not having the SPID out from the old QI card. I think the Radeons are the only ones that I saw that have SPID out from their card. Comments or other suggestions are welcome.
     
  5. Brian Ruth

    Brian Ruth Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Steve -- I like my AIW for the TV and DVD, but its VERY lackluster with regards to games. Its about the same speed as my old card, which was a GeForce 256. Still, you DO get a neat wireless remote (RF) and a TV tuner. If you can get the AIW 8500 for less than $350, its worth considering.
     
  6. Tim Kilbride

    Tim Kilbride Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2001
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    On the same subject...have any of you guys use the 'Tivo' type function? If so, what do you like/dislike? Does it actually work like it says it does?

    Thanks
    Tim K.
     
  7. Josh Lowe

    Josh Lowe Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a Radeon 8500. How/where can I get a component adaptor for it??? Thanks..
     
  8. GaryAR

    GaryAR Agent

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    here's a question i can't get an answer for:

    if i have the component adapter, can i scale at 16:9 1080i signal to fit on an svga monitor at 800x600 (basically, change the aspect ratio from 16:9 to 4:3)? if the answer is yes, i'll get this card in a second.

    thanks
    -gary
     
  9. Steve_Ch

    Steve_Ch Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tim, I have personally made the decision not to go with AIW (see also the 7500 thread), however during my research (so these are not first hand), I did notice that the Tivo function seemed mediocre. If you go to EBay, there may still be a 8500DV for sale that the owner only used it for a month and decided that his real Tivo works much better.
     
  10. Ken Chan

    Ken Chan Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 1999
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Josh, on the page for the 8500 or 8500DV, on the right side is a link to the adapter; on that page, there's a link to buy it. Fill in the info on your card, and it takes to a page for accessories, including the adapter, which is $29. I've read that it will not allow you to upscale Macrovision-protected 480i stuff, which includes most DVDs.
    Gary, you probably wouldn't use the component adapter to output to a monitor. (TVs use component and monitors use VGA, although there's certainly some models with both.) The HDTV cards on the market output to VGA, which should include 800x600. The lowest I ever went was 1024x768. (They look much better at their native 1920x1080 or 1280x720 at 16:9 of course.)
    //Ken
     
  11. Brian Ruth

    Brian Ruth Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've used the AIW for video capture (Tivo type stuff) and I'm pretty happy with it.
    I prefer my AIW over a Tivo anyday -- DVD quality picture, upgradeable storage, and no monthly fees. Once I upgrade my Hard Drive, I'll be set. [​IMG]
     
  12. GaryAR

    GaryAR Agent

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ken

    thanks for the response. i was confused about the adapter, i guess i'll need to get an HDTV card for the computer and run the component signal into it.

    -gary
     

Share This Page