Anyone see Hendrix, the Stones, Janis, or others live in the 60's?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by DanaA, Jan 20, 2002.

1. DanaA

DanaA Screenwriter

This is for the older ones out there. I graduated Palisades High in 1969. Back then, I got to go to literally hundreds of great concerts, usually in the Los Angeles or Bay areas. Saw some great ones back then, sometimes before they even had an album released. This includes groups like Cream, an early Led Zeppelin, Jethro Tull, Hendrix, Buffalo Springfield, Big Brother, the Doors, Quicksilver, the Who, Love, the Airplane, the Dead, the Allman Brothers, the Stones, and on and on. I was wondering if any of you got to see these groups back then and in what venue. Also, if you had any great memories or unusual experiences at the concerts you'd be willing to share. I can only say that I had some very, very unusual times at these concerts, but can't elaborate because my daughters read this site.

2. Alex Shk

Alex Shk Stunt Coordinator

I saw many of those acts when they were slightly more established over here on the right coast (NYC). I saw The pre-Tommy Who at the Fillmore East. Great show - a bomb scare (or something) caused an evacuation (this was my first concert). I saw Quicksilver at The Academy of Music. The singer made several runs into the audience (some 6 or 7 years before Springsteen thought of the idea). Someone tried to hand him some "substances" (acid?) which he turned over to another member of the audience. Strange Days indeed........

3. SteveRS

SteveRS Stunt Coordinator

Yes the late 60's had some great concerts around So Cal. Dana I bet we almost bumped into each other a couple of times. I usually wore the t-shirt with the 5-pointed green leaf on the back.[​IMG]
    I was a senior in high school in 68 when I saw my first concert at the Anaheim Convention Center.
    Tickets cost $3.50 in front of the stage to see Jimi Hendrix Experience and The Animals.