What's new

Anyone power their DIY Subs with old receivers? (1 Viewer)

Andrew S

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Sep 30, 2001
Messages
214
I always read of people power their subs with plate amps, etc,. but I can't afford to shell out the cost for a plate amp, so I just use an old Pioneer receiver.
I was wondering if anyone else was in the similar situation?
Thanks,
Andrew
 

Michael Hartwig

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Sep 18, 2002
Messages
56
I originally powered my Tempest with my JVC receiver that was rated at 120 RMS 8 ohms/channel. I used both L and R to power the DVC of the Tempest. I found by using the DVC capabilities of the Tempest with my JVC I was getting a flatter response down to 20Hz than I do now with my Adire AV250 running 4 ohms with the Tempest DVC shorted to 4ohms. But the AV 250 does give me more slam. So I gain in one area and loose in another.
That's my experience.
 

Cam S

Screenwriter
Joined
Jan 11, 2002
Messages
1,524
I've heard of alot of people powering subs with old receivers. I didn't have an old one that wasn't in use already so I had no choice but to go with a plate amp, and I'm kinda glad I did as it's more of a complete package.
 

Joel X

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Nov 21, 2002
Messages
50
I power my sub and bass shakers with old receivers and think it is a great idea. No problems here...
 

Jonathan_D

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
142
I power my Tempest with an old H/K integrated amp. While its not a lot of power, it *can* shake shelves on the walls.

I agree, I think its a great idea if you've got spare amplification hanging around.
 

Jeremy Stockwell

Supporting Actor
Joined
Aug 9, 2001
Messages
608
I power my DIY Tempest Sonosub with an old Kenwood Pro-Logic receiver from college (100W x 2). Works fine. I would recommend using a driver with DVC so that you can use both the left and right channels to get max from the amp.

The only potential problem is HEADROOM. I don't often play DVD's anywhere near reference, but when experimenting with higher levels, I can tell that the sub amp can't keep up as it approaches reference.

If you've got the hardware lying around, I would definitely try it, at least.

JKS
 

JeffTodd

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Jan 28, 2002
Messages
200
I power my SVS based sonosub with my old Aiwa prologic receiver (supposedly 100w per)......it works well, but I am hoping to get a plate amp to push it better.
 

Andrew S

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Sep 30, 2001
Messages
214
Stuart, I don't know about everyone else, but I basically just use the built in crossovers in my receiver and then send it to my older receiver. On my receiver I just turn the treble all the way down the bass at normal. I don't know if this is the correct way to do it, but it suits my tastes well.
 

Ben Ven

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Mar 6, 2002
Messages
61
I power my sub with an old Pioneer receiver, VSX-9500S. It is rated at 125W per channel. You can run 2 subs if you have an A/B set up on your receiver. I wonder if a plate amp would sound better with my set up?? Anyway, I am too cheap to spend the money on a plate amp :D . The Pioneer seems to have plenty of oomph.
Andrew, at least on my receiver, the tone controls are bypassed when I input the sub signal from my Yamaha receiver to the Pioneer receiver pre amp input. No need to turn down the treble control. FYI.
 

Owen Bartley

Second Unit
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
487
I was doing this last year with an old 10" car sub. It was powered with everything from an old mini-system (!) to a Kenwood 1970's receiver at about 80 - 100 wpc.

For a crossover, I just picked up one of those big $10 coils (capacitor, right?) on a little PCB from an electronics store. It was supposed to block out about 100Hz and up. I built a little box for it, and ran it between the amp and sub. For a ghetto solution, it didn't work too badly.
 

Jonathan_D

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
142
What is everyone using for a crossover?
Like others, I just run it straight off the LFE/Sub out from my H/K receiver. The H/K bass management is pretty good (though not as good as the newer models). I have it set at 60hz (my mains will go down to 50 or 55 hz) and includes the bass from the L+R and rears as well as the LFE. The amp I use has a tone bypass switch that I use as well as a "high cut" filter.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Forum Sponsors

Latest Articles

Forum statistics

Threads
349,153
Messages
4,870,388
Members
142,498
Latest member
johnryan50189
Recent bookmarks
0
Top