What's new

Anyone make their own chess set? (1 Viewer)

Dave Poehlman

Senior HTF Member
My son just learned how to play chess... and I had some scrap wood lying around.. so I put together a chess board with some spare plywood to replace the cheap plastic one we've got:

I'm really surprised how well it turned out considering just a few days ago it was a piece of 1/4" plywood lying on my garage floor and the only tools used were a miter saw and a circular saw.

So, now I'd like to hand craft some pieces for it... or at the very least find some unfinished ones that I could stain to match the board. I'm not a carver by trade.. I'd probably sever an artery if I attempted whittling. :) Surprisingly there's not a lot out on the web about making your own pieces.

I stopped by a local craft store to see if they had some sort of beads and dowels I could glue together into pieces. They had some that could work.. but not enough to make an entire set.

Anyone out there make a set of their own?

Dave Poehlman

Senior HTF Member
Yeah, that book came up in a few of my searches. Maybe I'll check it out.

Part of the challenge is I want them to all appear as a set... not a hodge-podge of styles. I did find this page, however:

http://www.craftparts.com/mall/Little_People.asp

I could use these as pawns:

They have a taller version that could represent the king...

and I could use these as bishops:

and they have a taller version that could represent the queen.

But then I'm faced with the problem of what to use as a knight.. and a castle. I suppose I could saw the head off of the "boy" shape and put some sort of castle top on 'em. I'd prefer the knight to resemble a horse to stick with the Staunton style (I'm learning so much about chess pieces here. :) ) because it's easy to identify. Plus, most of these pieces are pretty skinny. I'd have to find some sort of base to stick 'em in.

Greg_R

Screenwriter
Real Name
Greg