Anyone here have a Subaru Legacy or Outback?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Philip Hamm, Feb 6, 2002.

1. Philip Hamm

Philip Hamm Lead Actor

In the last two years of owning my wonderful Audi A4 I've finally come to the conclusion that I don't like it. Mainly it's the seats. 1) They're leather, and I find that to be extremely uncomfortable, particularly in the spring, summer, and fall. 2) They are uncomfortable to me. On a long trip even with breaks and no matter how I set the seat up (and it adjusts about a million ways) I still am in extreme discomfort after about three hours.

I'm completely sold on all wheel drive, and I want a mid size sporty sedan or more likely a wagon. I'm a hobbyist musician and a wagon would move my bass gear much better than a sedan - besides the Legacy sedan doesn't have fold down seats so I couldn't even pack in it.

So I'm thinking Subaru Legacy GT wagon. Any comments? An Outback perhaps? What advantages does the Outback have - it doesn't look nearly as sporty all jacked up with those big tires. I would like something somewhat sporty. Also I want a five speed not an automatic.

2. Rick Deschaine

Rick Deschaine Stunt Coordinator

Phillip,

I just purchased a used 97' Outback station wagon and love it. Most people you talk to will have nothing but good things to say about them. Of course you will find the occasional bad experience, but any car make will include some lemons in it's production line.

If you want sporty, definitely go for the stick as the automatic is a bit slow off the line. Better yet, if you can afford it, go for the 6 cylinder version. But they list for around 30,000$ plus. As for the high look, that's no accident. The Subaru Outback has a higher ground clearance than some so called SUVs. I've been in an Outback on some pretty rugged roads and no bottoming out. It's not for serious 4 wheeling, but will handle roads your Audi won't.