Anyone here brew your own beer?

Discussion in 'After Hours Lounge (Off Topic)' started by greggor, Jul 10, 2003.

1. greggor

greggor Second Unit

Greg
    My wife recently bought me a home brewing kit that I have been wanting for awhile and I just bottled my first batch which I should be enjoying in about one week.

I was just curious if there are any other members of the forum who are brewing their own beer that would like to exchange some tips and maybe some recipes???

I'll let you all know how the beer turns out

Greg[​IMG]

2. Daren Welsh

Daren Welsh Supporting Actor

A buddy gave me a kit and I haven't used it yet. Where do I go to get ingredients?

3. Paul_Fisher

Paul_Fisher Screenwriter

I'm sure Ron does, he loves beer! [​IMG]

4. Andrej Dolenc

Andrej Dolenc Stunt Coordinator

I've been brewing for probably 5 or 6 years now. So far so good, every batch has been a success. Lots of ales, in the winter the basement gets cold enough to brew a lager beer. Recipes, tips, advice, got it all, just ask away!

One thing that I've found is that beer does take a bit to mature in the bottles. They always say wait 2 weeks for carbonation in bottles, then you're ready to go. There's only a few beers that will be ready that quick, kinda depends on the yeast & how active it is. Most beers I wait 3 weeks until trying, by about a month in bottles it'll be awsome. Since this is your first batch, I'd say try one in a week or so, and see what it's like. If it's still flat, give it more time.

Also try and save a few bottles of the batch, stash them and drink them in 4 or 5 months. The beer will keep improving for a while. May be hard to not drink them all, but it's worth it!

I've had good luck finding recipes online here: http://brewery.org/gambmug/

Daren, look in the yellow pages for homebrew supply stores. Barring that, you can mail order ingredients. I've had great luck with stuff from http://www.northernbrewer.com

Andrej

5. Jack Briggs