Anyone have the SMC player from dvdcity.com?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Dave Campbell, Mar 22, 2001.

  1. Dave Campbell

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 1999
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I want to build a kungfu collection starting with some PAL DVDs from Hongkong Legends. I have Drunken Master already but no player [​IMG]
    The SMC DVD player seem to be an economical way to go for $299. Can anyone comment on the quality of its conversion from PAL to NTSC?
     
  2. Matt_Stevens

    Matt_Stevens Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2000
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same as the Sampo and the Apex.
    Not enough scan lines are removed, resulting in a picture that is too tall (people will be tall & skinny). If you have a 16x9 set, then anamorphic mode results in too many scan lines being removed, giving you short, fat people.
    Either way, it's a flawed presentation.
    ------------------
    www.deceptions.net/superman
     
  3. Ted Todorov

    Ted Todorov Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2000
    Messages:
    2,981
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
    So if you can live with that get a Sampo 620 for $150 and save some money.
    I still use my Sampo now that I have a PAL/NTSC multi-standard TV, and it works just fine when passing through the PAL or NTSC signal.
    Ted
     
  4. Chauncey2

    Chauncey2 Extra

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 1999
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I believe DVDs from Hong Kong are NTSC. And most of them are region 0. All the Hong Kong DVDs I have are NTSC.
    Good Luck,
    ------------------
    Chauncey
    Home Theater Equipment List
     
  5. Brian E

    Brian E Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2000
    Messages:
    1,636
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  6. Dave Campbell

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 1999
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the info, I suspected the image would not be too good.
    I have an ATI All-In-Wonder Radeon card but the manual states I could only change the region 5 times. I guess the powers that be have their hooks deep in the computer industry too.
    Any ideas on a setup that would have decent quality?
    I looked at TenLab's converters but they cost a bundle.
     
  7. Hendrik

    Hendrik Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 1998
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  8. Chad Parks

    Chad Parks Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 1999
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, you could hack your DVD drive on your computer to play all regions, but you should be advised that this is a VERY touchy proposition. If you don't know what you're doing, you can easily fry your drive. I still haven't summoned the courage to do it (largely because most of those programs seem to want real mode DOS and I have Win ME).
    ------------------
    Chad Parks
    Visit Region Free for import DVD and VCD reviews and retail information
     
  9. Christian Behrens

    Christian Behrens Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2000
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Real Name:
    Christian Behrens
    Dave,
    It might be that your DVD-Rom drive is regionfree and only your player program limits you to a fixed number of region switches.
    Get DVD-Genie, a free, small program that is extremely useful for all software players to get rid of this problem. You can get it at http://www.inmatrix.com .
    -Christian
     
  10. Matt_Stevens

    Matt_Stevens Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2000
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the top of the line Tenlab converter and I love it. Love it!! It was expensive, but as I am buying all the HKL PAL releases, it's worth it to me.
     
  11. Chauncey2

    Chauncey2 Extra

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 1999
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Matt,
    Which Tenlabs converter do you own? I own the TR-11SVHS, and while it works pretty good, it could be a lot better. I get all sorts of digital artifacts. Colors aren't smooth, etc.
    Thanks,
    ------------------
    Chauncey
    Home Theater Equipment List
     
  12. Ted Todorov

    Ted Todorov Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2000
    Messages:
    2,981
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
     
  13. Dave Campbell

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 1999
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks! The easiest and obvious solution escaped me [​IMG]
    I'll use the computer for PAL discs only. DVD-Genie is intresting also, seems like a good utility to keep.
    Any links to fast codefree(no or easy mods) computer DVD drives?
     
  14. Matt_Stevens

    Matt_Stevens Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2000
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Chauncey2, I went all the way for the TR-21. It does reduce the resolution down from DVD territory to LD territory and there is some minor artifacting, but it has nearly twice the resolution as yours and I am happy with it.
    It cost me a pretty penny, of course. But I'd rather lose some resolution and have correct widescreen geometry than have an Apex that gives screwed up geometry no matter what you do.
     
  15. Brajesh Upadhyay

    Brajesh Upadhyay Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 1998
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

Share This Page