Anyone have HK PA2000 or Parasound 855 Power amps?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by DanaA, Jun 16, 2002.

1. DanaA

DanaA Screenwriter

I'm interested in either the Harman Kardon PA 2000 or Parasound 855 power amps. Anyone care to describe the sound quality and power of either of these. They would be hooked up to my Onkyo 696 receiver with the Parasound driving 5 channels or the Harman Kardon taking over 2 channels. As I'm new to the realm of power amps, I'm assuming they could thus be hooked up if my Onkyo has preamp outs. I'd especially be interested in those that feel they would improve the current sound/power. They would be used with my Klipsh RB-5 speakers in my bedroom setup.

2. Vlad D

Vlad D Screenwriter

Vladimir Derenoncourt
    Dana,
    I just bought a Parasound 855. I should be receiving it today (UPS tried to deliver it on Friday but no one was home). Anyway, in a few days I'll be able to tell you how it sounds. [​IMG] I'm also "new to the realm of power amps," but it is my understanding that you connect it to the preamp outs.
    BTW, check out Ubid. They have the 855. I picked up mine for $309 lus shipping.

3. Justin Lane

Justin Lane Cinematographer

I just picked up a Parasound 885 off of Ubib for 269 plus shipping. Originally I was not going to grab one, but for less then 300 bucks before shipping for a 5 channel amp, I could not pass.

Currently I am using a Pioneer Elite 35TX and have not been crazy about it's internal amps nor the power they provide. I already use a Parasound amp to power my two EX/ES channels so another Parasound made sense to me, especially at this price.

Hook up involves just running the Pre-amp outs from the receiver to the amp, setting the gains on the amp to max, and using the receiver to level match.

J

4. DanaA

DanaA Screenwriter