Anyone have an M&K sub?

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by Brandon Pop, Feb 24, 2004.

1. Brandon Pop

Brandon Pop Stunt Coordinator

Most people on this forum have SVS subs, maybe even a few HSU fans, but I was wondering if I am the only M&K guy out here? If you do I'd like to know which model and how you have found it compares with other subs.

2. Shane Martin

Shane Martin Producer

I own an M&K Mx90 and I have heard the 5000, the 350THX, Mx200 and the MX100 so I have some experience with them.

Are they a good sub?
    Yes

Have I heard an SVS or HSU?
    Yes I've heard both.

From my listening I'd say that the Mx90 I have is/was equal to the F1500R as far as I could tell. I'm sure the #'s won't bear this out but it's what I heard when I compared them last.

Compared to an SVS setup, The M&K is better to me for music but it can't play the bottom feeder bass parts that some are asking for nowadays. For most people I'd say the M&K line is fantastic. I like my sub alot but there is better out there. Then again I'm having to spend 3x the cost of my M&K to do better so take it for what its worth.

3. ross ish

ross ish Stunt Coordinator

I have the 5000thx. This sub has serious rumble factor as well as slam. The MK does not have the output levels at 20hz as the two tubes, but it has gripping presense...the sub just roars when it has too; never heard the MK bottom out.

I also have the SVS 16/46 cs+ placed in the opposite corner, a Styke AV12 in a 5cubic sonotube tuned 19 hz and a Titanic MK II in a 3.75cubic sealed enclosure. The Stryke and Titanic are placed on the far side walls. All are great subs.

I also have a Rythmik Audio sub and Hsu VT2 in the other room. I just sold a McIntosh HT2 and JBL PSW 1200. Suffice, I have first hand experience with a variety of subs.

4. Keith Hyde

Keith Hyde Stunt Coordinator

My local shop carries predominatly M&K, with some Paradigms and others in the mix two.