1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Anyone got a Fios TV One box yet???

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Sam Posten, Feb 11, 2019.

  1. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    21,912
    Likes Received:
    3,537
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Catfisch Cinema
    Real Name:
    Dave
    So, a new cable DVR box? I haven't had a cable-co box in over decade, particularly since going with TiVo. I have to figure out what my future with TiVo, but I expect I'll stay. And so I'd forgo a Fios One box when I upgrade to gig.
     
  2. Sam Posten

    Sam Posten Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1997
    Messages:
    26,910
    Likes Received:
    4,611
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Aberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ
    Real Name:
    Sam Posten
    Yep exactly right. Smaller faster 4k
     
  3. Scott Merryfield

    Scott Merryfield Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 1998
    Messages:
    14,928
    Likes Received:
    2,810
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Michigan
    Does Verizon have enough 4K content to make getting the box worthwhile? Comcast also has a 4K box, but other than some pay per view on demand programming, there is no 4K content available. So I haven't considered their box at the additional cost.
     
  4. Sam Posten

    Sam Posten Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1997
    Messages:
    26,910
    Likes Received:
    4,611
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Aberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ
    Real Name:
    Sam Posten
    Today no, not at all. There is NO broadcast 4K content. Zero. The only 4K you can get off this box is Netflix. But when the channels are ready this box will output them.
     
    Scott Merryfield likes this.
  5. Sam Posten

    Sam Posten Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1997
    Messages:
    26,910
    Likes Received:
    4,611
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Aberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ
    Real Name:
    Sam Posten
    Upgraded to Gigabit Ethernet and Fios One TV boxes this week. Cable looks exactly the same. Internet is a little faster. If you are paying for the service already might as well get the best they have. Other than that don't kill yourself to upgrade.
     
    DaveF likes this.
  6. Sam Posten

    Sam Posten Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1997
    Messages:
    26,910
    Likes Received:
    4,611
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Aberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ
    Real Name:
    Sam Posten
    Wraaaaa, BIG unwanted change! The shitty new remotes no longer have a 30 second skip button?
     
  7. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    21,912
    Likes Received:
    3,537
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Catfisch Cinema
    Real Name:
    Dave
    Do you use Fios on-demand or pay for view services? If not, I recommend getting a TiVo. :)
     
    Sam Posten likes this.
  8. Sam Posten

    Sam Posten Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1997
    Messages:
    26,910
    Likes Received:
    4,611
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Aberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ
    Real Name:
    Sam Posten
    OK, just moved to the left and right arrow keys. Suuuuper fast now too.
     

Share This Page