What's new

Anyone familiar with volkswagon's jetta or passat (1 Viewer)

Shawn Solar

Supporting Actor
I relished the idea of a suv for a while. And now I'm wondering how the jetta and Passat perform. probably be 1999 or little older. I haven't looked at any yet cause I haven't got together a down payement. I was more wondering the performance of the 1.8T and the 2.8 6 cylinder. And long term durability. Any pet peeves or dislikes?

Josh Lowe

Screenwriter
i've been eyeing the same car. the jetta 1.8T. i've been driving a beater for the past 8 months and i'm tired of it. the jetta looks like a pretty nice driver for the price. a friend of mine has one and loves it. with an APR chip the 1.8T makes a respectable amount of power for being so small..

you might also want to check out the mazdaspeed protege and the dodge neon SRT-4 if either of those are available for sale in Canada.. the mazdaspeed protege is quick and handles very well. the neon is a beast for being such a small car but its one disadvantage is that it's absolutely hideous..

Keith Mickunas

Senior HTF Member
On the Jetta, the model changed in the '99 model year. So if you look at 99.5 and newer, your dealing with the Mk. IV (sometimes referred to as A4 but should not be confused with the Audi A4), and prior to that was the older style Mk. III. So keep an eye on that. I have a 2001 Jetta, and before I got that I didn't pay much attention to VWs, so I can't say much about the older ones. The 2.8VR6 in the Jetta is quite nice, its very smooth and has decent power. In 2002 they started offering the 24 valve version which has even more power.