What's new

anyone ever use studio monitors? i.e. blue sky? (1 Viewer)

toddAllen

Grip
after having read what speakers people on here commonly use, i was wondering if anyone has gone the route that i did. let me first explain that i am an audio engineer, so i am constantly having to nit-pick music and dialogue and the littlest nuances. for this reason, studio monitors are used in the studio,(because y ou can here EVERYTHING through a good set of monitors). that being said, for my home theatre, i bought a 5.1 set of BLUE SKY "system one" monitors. now, nobody on here has probably ever heard of them, but they are basically designed by george lucas' sound team at skywalker ranch. they are THX PM3 certified. the speakers (satellites) consist of a dual concentric tweeter and a 6.5" woofer. each speaker is self amplified, using 2 built in amplifiers at 100w RMS a piece (one for the tweeter, the other for the woofer). thats 200w rms each speaker. they also use linkwitz-riley crossovers, and balanced XLR inputs. another feature is the 12" sub (single 200w RMS amplifier built in), which you can run your left and right speakers to, and have it roll off everything below 80Hz to the sub. it also has a phase switch on it, to optimize performance at any location. these speakers sound absolutely amazing for home theatre (as they are designed to sound exactly like the movie was mixed), and reguire nothing more than a pre-amp/decoder to run, since they are powered monitors. if you buy the surround package, you get a bass management controller as well, and you can set individual characteristics for each speaker (calibration). check them out at (apparantly i can't post links because i'm a newbie, so the site is ABLUESKY DOT COM)
and tell me what you think. they are actually quite cheap when considering. i'd like to hear what others think about this concept. thanks, todd.

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John