What's new

Anyone ever gone bungee jumping? (1 Viewer)

Michael*K

Screenwriter
I want to hit the bungee tower next month when I go to Las Vegas. I've never done a jump before, so I have a few questions. Is the 175 foot drop a little extreme for a first jump? Should I keep my eyes opened or closed the first time I do it? Are there height/weight restrictions? How are you connected to the bungee cord?

ChrisMatson

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Chris
I went in Cancun, Mexico (makes me think of Cable Guy) back in 1997. I think it was "only" about 60-70 feet over water. I was scared, but I did it with my eyes open and I would do it agin. You are a brave man to do 175 feet. I think there are weight restrictions, but I think they adjust the length and number of cords to adjust for this. I was connected around both ankles with some sort of harness.
Have fun! :cool:

KyleS

Screenwriter
Michael,
I have been fortunate or unfortunate (depending on how you look at it) to go 3 times in my life. Each time I swore I would never do it again... and the reason being that I am scared of heights and nothing scares the shit out of you like Bungee jumping when dealing with heights. :eek:
The first time I went Bungee jumping was when I was 17 and I went over to Australia to play American football or Gridiron as they call it. It was over the gold coast into the bay (you actually go into the water) from a crane that is 180-200 feet tall and let me tell you that was a rush. I got talked into it because I was with a ton of other football players and everyone was doing it but due to peer pressure no one opted out. (Probably more then half of us were scared to death). ;)
After I did that I swore I would never do it again.