Anyone ever give mouth-to-mouth resuscitation?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jon_Are, Feb 15, 2002.

1. Jon_Are

Jon_Are Cinematographer

I have, but I'll save my story for a bit later. Interested in hearing other tales.

Jon

2. Patrick Sun

Patrick Sun Moderator

I did when my grandma had a stroke, but she passed away from the stroke. This was over 17 years ago.

3. ChrisMatson

ChrisMatson Cinematographer

Not mouth-to-mouth, but with a bag-valve-mask. I was a volunteer EMT for 3 years. I responded to 4 working codes and performed CPR and defibrillation. All were unsuccessful...

4. Mike I

Mike I Supporting Actor

Four or five times when I was a life guard at Fort Myers Beach during the summers when I was in college..

5. Randy Tennison

Randy Tennison Screenwriter

Randy
    I have twice.

First time, less than a month after I got my EMT license

I was at the KC Municpal court to testify on a case, and a lady dropped dead in the lobby. A cop and I gave CPR until the paramedics arrived. We brought her back twice (she had a pulse and was breathing on her own), but she didn't make it.

Second time, I was working as a police officer, and a medical call went out to our police secretary's house. Her husband was terminally ill. I got there first, and asked if she wanted me to try to revive him, or if she had a DNR. She said to try. I started, and the ambulance arrived. We brought him back, and he lived for several more hours. Just enough time for his family to say goodbye to him. I am truly thankful I had that opportunity.

BTW, that's is something that they don't often tell you at CPR school. The majority of people don't make it. That can be very frustrating. But, as in the second case, I got him a little extra time, so it was worth it!

6. Dave Poehlman

Dave Poehlman Producer

Oh.. it's supposed to be mouth to mouth? Oops. Wrong orifice I guess.. no wonder that guy never came around. Took forever to get that taste out of my mouth, too.