Anyone else 'prime' for hi-rez releases?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jagan Seshadri, Oct 12, 2002.

1. Jagan Seshadri

Jagan Seshadri Supporting Actor

I find myself at the moment relistening to Neil Young's "Harvest" CD to familiarize myself with the album again before I decide to pick up the DVD-A reissue. It's kind of like hearing a 'teaser' of what's to come.
    "Harvest" was the one of the first CDs I bought about 12 years ago, and being a budding guitarist I recalled being amazed at the guitar intro of 'Old Man' and all the vocal harmonies on the album.
    Listening to the album today was a bit of a surprise. My ear has developed so much more since I first listened to the album that I now realize how off-key Neil Young was on some of those songs!! The good thing is I've since mastered how to play 'Old Man' and seem to have acquired a syncopated rhythm guitar playing style that gives away its artistic influence all too easily. [​IMG]
    Priming for a reissue can be fun! And according to Neil Young, we'll finally be able to hear the album (especially the stereo mix) the way it was meant to be heard.
    Who else has been priming?
    -JNS

2. KeithH

KeithH Lead Actor

Jagan, I'm always priming for new high-resolution releases. In anticipation of new titles coming, I do sometimes find myself playing CDs that I have not listened to in quite awhile.

3. Mike Broadman

Mike Broadman Producer

I've done that a couple times, most recently for Miles Davis' Tutu on DVD-A which I just picked up today.

NP: Tchaikovsky 4th Symphony & Stravinksy Rite of Spring, SACD

4. KeithH

KeithH Lead Actor

Mike, how do you like Tutu on DVD-Audio? I am particularly interested in your thoughts on the stereo track.

5. John Geelan

John Geelan Screenwriter

That's a great idea. I should also listen to the cd version of Harvest before I put on the dvda. I would bet their will be an improvement!