Anyone else interested in the Integra DTC 9.8 Pre/Pro?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Ron Reda, Jan 9, 2008.

  1. Ron Reda

    Ron Reda Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,276
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I've yet to check to see what firmware version my unit has...gotta do that.
     
  2. Gustavo Menendez

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Finding your "Firmware Version" is easy turn the Integra DTC-9.8 on.
    Then push "display" and simultaneously press the ON/OFF switch.
     
  3. Brian Docili

    Brian Docili Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 1998
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I love my DTC 9.8. I have not used the Pro setup, but the regular setup is better than anything I have ever owned before (using a mic stand and 5 positions).

    I got it for $1500 from my local dealer and it took 45 days to get.
     
  4. Michael_V

    Michael_V Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1999
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, after months on the fence ... I have been resisting giving up my Anthem AVM 20 ... I decided to take the plunge. I ordered my Integra DTC 9.8 today. Should be here in a week or so! Now a few questions....

    Using a PS3 as my player, a Pioneer 5070HD plasma display, and a Parasound 5 channel amp, what do I need to hook this puppy up? Anything special?

    Thanks!
     
  5. ericks

    ericks Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just RCAs or balanced cables for the amp to preamp connection and some HDMIs.
     
  6. Michael_V

    Michael_V Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1999
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cool, thanks! I have a five-headed RCA doohickey from Bettercables and just ordered some new HDMIs from Blue Jeans Cable. Guess I am ready to go!
     
  7. Mark Paquette

    Mark Paquette Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 1999
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Michael_V, as an AVM-30 owner, I'm anxious to hear your thoughts once you get your Integra set up.
     
  8. Ron Reda

    Ron Reda Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,276
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Congrats, Michael!!! As "ericks" stated, you should be set once you get one HDMI cable from the 9.8 to your TV and then one HDMI cable for each of your HDMI equipped components and then some ICs from the 9.8 to your amp.
     
  9. Michael_V

    Michael_V Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1999
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mark,

    I was really reluctant to give up the Anthem. It sounds so good! But $2600 to upgrade was just too much, and like most of us, I have a pathological need to be somewhere toward the front end of the technology curve! Once I heard uncompressed PCM (Casino Royale in 2.0 stereo via optical from my PS3) I was hooked. Maybe I am hearing things, but after that the "old" formats just sound ... constipated ... to me now! Can't wait to hear lossless audio in full surround!

    I will post my impressions once I have the Integra set-up!
     
  10. PEH

    PEH Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Just picked mine up and ran Audyssey. How con you tell if Audessey is enabled? I briefly ran an HD DVD with Dolby True HD but the front panel display only indicated multichannel. How do you get the 9.8 to properly display True HD or any of the other newer codecs for that matter?
     
  11. PEH

    PEH Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    How do you turn Audyssey on and off?
     
  12. Steve Blair

    Steve Blair Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 1999
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It will say Audyssey on the receiver screen itself. You can also turn it on and off by hitting setup, speaker setup, and equalizer settings.
     
  13. PEH

    PEH Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Where does it say Audyssey on the front panel display? I have looked when the unit is running and do not see it anywhere. If I turned it off accidentally how do I turn it back on again?
     
  14. ericks

    ericks Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Check the manual - it's all in there.
     
  15. PEH

    PEH Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    You were correct. I found it last night. Do you know why I can't get the front panel display to show the proper sound format when playing an HD DVD or BD?
     
  16. Steve Blair

    Steve Blair Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 1999
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What bd player? If you're bitstreaming make sure you've set the player to bitstream the hd audio and then select the hd audio from the player's menu and it should show up on the screen.
     
  17. PEH

    PEH Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  18. Steve Blair

    Steve Blair Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 1999
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you have the most current firmware on both players? I don't own either player so I would check the player threads for these at AVS but I know they needed firmware updates to be able to bitstream hd audio.
     
  19. PEH

    PEH Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I just want to thank everyone for all the help. I found I was missing a setting on the XA2 ( Direct Digital Out ) that was apparently added with a recent FW update which, until I got the 9.8, did not matter to me, and which of course was not in the manual. My 1400 is also now working. So, all is well with the world. Now I just need to listen to the system for awhile and decide if I am going to have the Pro Audyssey calibration done.
     
  20. Michael_V

    Michael_V Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1999
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Got my DTC 9.8 yesterday, set it up, ran audyssey, and left it on all night to "break it in."

    So far, I have listened to Casino Royale (uncompressed PCM) and Live Free or Die Hard (DTS HD).

    PS3 is set to output LPCM. Integra is set to Direct (Mulitchannel).

    I think I am going to be the first to be critical, but my first impressions are not good. My Anthem AVM 20 sounds so much better. Clearly warmer and more natural for every source. It has been a long time since I listened to Japanese components in my main HT, but (and please don't flame me!) I instantly recognized the cold, electronic soulessness. I have to say listening to uncompressed PCM (even in stereo via optical) through the Anthem is truly a "wow" experience. Listening to the Integra is a "meh" experience by comparison. There is some compression in the Integra, with less sibilant highs and a harsh, fatiguing midrange bias. I doubt I could sit through an entire movie listening to it.

    I think the better play for me would be to invest in a blu-ray player with analog outs (rather than the PS3) and stick with the Anthem.

    Anyone want to take this Integra off my hands?
     

Share This Page