What's new

Anyone else doing Genealogy? (1 Viewer)

James_S

Second Unit
Just wondering if anyone else is interested or is doing genealogy?

I have been doing genealogy for about 2 years now and have info all the way back to my GGGGrandmother (1804 in Norway) on my Grandmother’s Father’s side and to my GGGrandmother (1820 in Norway) on her Mother’s side. The relatives came over to the United States in 1877 and 1880 to settle in South Dakota and later to Minnesota.

It has been frustrating search, but in the end it is all worth it. One of the reasons I started was for my son. He was born in Dec of 1999. I wanted him to know where his ancestors came from and why they came over to the US.

Right now I have about 250 people in my family tree as of this weekend.

James

SteveGon

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Steve Gonzales
I had a little fling with Jeanie Ology, but she was such a b***h that I dumped her! Sorry, can't resist a bad joke... :)
Anyway, I'm kinda interested in this topic. My parents come from different cultural backgrounds (my father was Hispanic, my mother is white) so I'm sure there's some interesting stuff in the ol' family history. Finding out about my maternal family tree shouldn't be too difficult, but exploring my paternal lineage might be - all I'll say about that is that I don't even know the name of my real grandfather. This is a sore subject with my grandmother so it'd be kind of hard bringing it up with her. I know there are websites out there that would be helpful, can you recommend one?

Andrew Pratt

Senior HTF Member
I have information on my maternal side back for several hundred years. I have some info on my fathers side but not nearly as extensive as on my mother side...maybe one day I'll extend the work that my relatives have alrady done

Holadem

Senior HTF Member
Being African, everything more than three or four generations up is a haze (no written records back home) :frowning: