Anybody use a D-Link DI-614+ with Xbox Live?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jason Price, Oct 30, 2002.

  1. Jason Price

    Jason Price Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 1998
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Received my XBL beta kit tonight, and am having no luck getting connected. My xbox won't even recognize a connection to the router, even though I have confirmed that the link is good (using a laptop). I've been through all the port-forwarding setup (even though I'm not even to that point, figured I'd just make sure), but no luck. The XBL support people don't have a clue - the router is not on any of their lists. I don't get why any router wouldn't work - it should just be a simple ethernet connection, no different than any other...

    Anyone had any success with this router?
     
  2. Keith Frederick

    Keith Frederick Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2002
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please do not tell me that. I too have this router, and am waiting on my XBLive kit to come (hopefully) tomorrow. I have been worried that my router would give me problems, and know so little about configuring it. Now you tell me that it might not work with my XBOX! Please someone help us!

    Considering that you apparently know more than I, this is probably a silly question, but did you update the firmware? I am sure you did. My router wouldn't even work with my DSL until I updated the firmware.

    Also, I believe I have my firewall set to disabled... is yours disabled?

    Anyway, I hope someone helps resolve this by tomorrow. I can't imagine that our router won't work. I mean, an XBOX is just a PC in a black box afterall?!?!
     
  3. Keith Frederick

    Keith Frederick Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2002
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also, this is sort of weird, last night I plugged my XBOX into the network, just to see what would happen on NFL 2K3 when I select GO LIVE or whatever the option is, even though I don't have XBOXLive kit yet.

    It went through, it apparently recognized my connection, because it didn't give me the typical "Check your ethernet connection" message I'd get before I plugged it in. Then, I tried it again later, and it went back to giving me that message - which scared me. Didn't know if it was my Xbox or my router that was not working properly, or how to get back to when it apparently was working properly... but maybe a clue is in there somewhere???? Any insights.

    Sadly, until I get the kit, I can't really troubleshoot... not that I anticipate having better luck than you.
     
  4. Jason Price

    Jason Price Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 1998
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, someone just told me that there is a link light on the ethernet jack that is supposed to light up when it has a valid link. Keith, do you see the link light?
    I think it's possible that my Xbox has a bad ethernet port. A lightning strike recently took out a bunch of stuff in my house, including my old router. I'm wondering if the current just passed right on down the ethernet cable and into the Xbox, frying the port... [​IMG]
     
  5. Keith Frederick

    Keith Frederick Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2002
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will reserve judgement until I get my kit today. Gotta go to work now.
     
  6. Jason Price

    Jason Price Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 1998
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, it was a bad ethernet jack on the Xbox. Picked up a new one today, and got connected right up. Haven't had a chance to play anything yet (working on that now), but connectivity to the XBL service worked just fine...
     
  7. Keith Frederick

    Keith Frederick Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2002
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I got my kit and am having issues now - can't get it to work. Would it be possible for you to save out your configuration, and send it to me as an attachment:
    [email protected]
    I appreciate the help. Thanks.
     
  8. Jason Price

    Jason Price Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 1998
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Keith,

    What problems are you having? I don't have access to my router right now for the config, but I could probably help you out, if you detail the problem.
     
  9. Keith Frederick

    Keith Frederick Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2002
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the offering of help. My problem has been fixed. It was a faulty cable. [​IMG] I am very very happy to have resolved this. My router with its default settings are all that I needed. Thanks.
     
  10. AndyN

    AndyN Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2001
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jason,

    Did the dlink work for you? It's on the list on non-compatible routers on the xbox website. It also happens to be my router. How'd you do it? Just asking before I buy xbox live.

    Andy
     
  11. Jason Price

    Jason Price Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 1998
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Andy,

    Yes, the dlink is working fine for me - not sure why it's on the "doesn't work" list. I'm using the latest firmware (2.03g), and haven't really had any issues. From Keith's posts, it sounds like he got his working, too.

    Jason
     
  12. Tim Markley

    Tim Markley Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 1999
    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was going to buy that router but decided against it when I saw it on the "will not work" list on the XBox Live site. I could've saved about $40 getting the D-Link components instead of Linksys. My Linksys is working great though so I'm happy.
     
  13. AndyN

    AndyN Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2001
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Jason. So it's basically plug and play? I'm headed to costco to see if I can pick it up for $42. THanks.
     
  14. Justin1

    Justin1 Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 1999
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    1
    As stated earlier in this thread, Microsoft has deemed the 614 as a router that doesn't work with XBox live. I have no idea as to how they make that sort of recommendation. Here is the site:
    Compatible router list
     
  15. Jason Price

    Jason Price Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 1998
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Andy,

    In my case it was, but it sounds like YMMV. I did update to the latest firmware when I was troubleshooting initially (when I mistakenly thought it was a problem with the router rather than the Xbox) - not sure if that played a role or not. If you have any problems, you might try that.

    Also, as an FYI, I only have the demo disk and NFL2k3. Now, I would assume all XBL games would pass network traffic the same way (and therefore, if one game works, they all should), but I can't say that with 100% certainty. Hope it works out for you.

    Jason
     
  16. Keith Frederick

    Keith Frederick Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2002
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dlink just gave me the fix for the 614+ and 604. It fixes all of my problems and I believe Microsoft will take them off their "not working" list shortly. If you need this update, contact Dlink technical support and ask for the latest Beta firmware to make your router work with XBlive. If you have trouble I can get it to you myself. I am soooo happy!!!
     
  17. Jason Price

    Jason Price Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 1998
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Keith,

    What issues were you having with XBL before this firmware update? And what's the firmware version?
     
  18. Keith Frederick

    Keith Frederick Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2002
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Read this thread to see the issues I was having. Several other people with DLINK routers were having the same issues.
     
  19. Jason Price

    Jason Price Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 1998
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, your problem wasn't related to faulty cables?

    What's the firmware revision of the firmware they gave you?
     

Share This Page