Anybody set up Yamaha Receiver for SACD?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by EdKBecker, May 7, 2004.

1. EdKBecker

EdKBecker Extra

I'm a newbie to SACD/DVD-A and swapped out my first compatible receiver with a new Yamaha RX-V750.

When I play the multi-channel Aerosmith's "Toys in the Attic", there is virtually no bass coming out of the main speakers or the sub (all speakers have music coming through). It played fine on my Pioneer 912 and I have it hooked up (DVD is the Pioneer 963).

Not sure what could be wrong as movies sound okay with all channels functioning as corroborated by the test set up.

Any ideas what might be wrong?

TIA

2. Chuck Mullen

Chuck Mullen Stunt Coordinator

What kind of player do you have? It sounds like it could be related to the bass management (or lack thereof) in your dvda/sacd player.

3. EdKBecker

EdKBecker Extra

It's the Pioneer 963. It does have bass management which I had set up for use with the Pioneer 912 receiver--and it worked just fine.

Basically the settings are large speakers for the front 3, sub woofer, plus small surrounds.

BTW is bass management only for the analog outputs? That is to say is the digital out affected at all?

4. Steve::Weaver

The digital output won't be affected by the player's bass management, instead relying on your receiver or pre/pro to do that work.

More importantly, I don't think your player will be able to pass a SACD signal to the receiver for decoding. If you want the "real deal" SACD version of your favorite disc, you should use the player's analog outputs.

5. EdKBecker

EdKBecker Extra

Let me clarify my question as I've done some more testing over the weekend.

With the DVD bass management set correctly, there is a definite lack of bass on the left, right, and center channels compared to a standard cd. I've manually matched the 6 analog outputs so that's not an issue. It's just that when the subwoofer is turned off, the sound has very little bass on the remaining channels.