Anybody here involved with biological sciences?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Dome Vongvises, Jan 30, 2002.

1. Dome Vongvises

Dome Vongvises Lead Actor

We've got every physics and chemistry junkie on the planet here (see all those threads), but I still haven't found a biology thread. Anybody?

2. John Thomas

John Thomas Cinematographer

Dome, that's probably because discussing apical and lateral meristems just isn't that exciting. [​IMG]

3. SteveGon

SteveGon Executive Producer

Let's talk about sex! Personally, I love it. Don't get enough of it though... [​IMG]

4. LDfan

LDfan Supporting Actor

Majored in Biology, worked at a medical lab for about 6 months then left for the tech industry. I love the biology field in general put the pay is absolute crap. There were folks with master's degrees working at the lab making $13.00 an hour.

Jeff

5. Andrew Pratt

Andrew Pratt Producer

I majored in Zoology and worked as field biologist with Ducks Unlimited for a number of years before switching over into the GIS dept (My minor was Geography)

6. DonRoeber

DonRoeber Screenwriter

My girlfriend is a neuorobiology phd student...

7. Dustin B

Dustin B Producer

I have a 4 year BSc in Biology. Focus was on molecular and genetics stuff. But after two years of computer science, although I still remember all the concepts, I've forgotten soo many of the terms.

But I still remember my research topic for Bio420. Oleosins were so cool :p)

8. Dome Vongvises

Damn, seems everybody had some sort of boring experience with biology.

9. Max Leung

Max Leung Producer

Biology courses tended to be exercises in rote memorization and equation-pushing. Yuck! Well, at least in the first few years, anyways. It all seems so boring to me.

Most of the biology students tend to be female, and naturally hardly any post on the HTF.